The agency also manages the state's accounting systems in accordance with accepted accounting principles. The responsibilities include operating the state's payroll system, approval of all claims for state reimbursement, and the issuance of state financial statements.

The Iowa Lottery which was initiated in 1985 is conducted by the Iowa Lottery Board and the Department. The lottery activities are planned to insure the maximum amount of state revenue is generated in a manner which is consistent with the dignity of the State of Iowa.

## State Board of Tax Review

RICHARD PEEBLER, chair, Polk County; term expires April 1987 JAMES HICKS, Marion County; term expires April 1991 PHILLIP MILLER, Polk County; term expires April 1989

Created within the structure of the Department of Revenue and Finance is a state Board of Tax Review. The bipartisan board consists of three members appointed for a six-year term. The state board serves in a review capacity, being empowered to pass upon all actions of the director and affirm, modify, reverse or remand such actions.

## **lowa Lottery Board**

JUNE AXEL, Appanoose County EMMA CHANCE, Pottawattamie County MONROE COLSTON, Polk County GARY HUGHES, Johnson County JOHN VANDYKE, Woodbury County

No Specific terms — Serve at pleasure of governor

The Iowa Lottery Board supervises and approves the activities of the Iowa Lottery. The board establishes policies for the operation of lottery games within the state, approves all contracts for operation of the lottery, and establishes rules as to the operations of specific games and lottery activities. The bipartisan board consists of five members who serve at the pleasure of the governor.

## TRANSPORTATION, DEPARTMENT OF

Warren B. Dunham, director; 800 Lincoln Way, Ames 50010; 515-239-1111
AUSTIN TURNER, chair, Corning; term expires 1986
C. ROGER FAIR, vice chair, Davenport; term expires 1987
MOLLY SCOTT, Spencer; term expires 1988
DEL VAN HORN, Jefferson; term expires 1988
DAVID CLEMENS, Peosta; term expires 1989
DOUG SHULL, Indianola; term expires 1989
ROBERT H. MEIER, Ottumwa; term expires 1990

The Iowa Department of Transportation, established by legislation passed by the 65th General Assembly and mandated to begin official functions on July 1, 1974, is responsible for coordinating the various facets of Iowa's transportation system.

Seven commissioners appointed by the governor are responsible for determination of general operating policies which are carried out by the director of transportation and the department staff.

The purpose of the department is to provide and preserve adequate, safe and efficient transportation services based on the use and benefits that accrue to the public.

The department includes eight divisions with the duties and responsibilities summarized below.

## Administrative Division

Dennis L. Tice, division administrator; 800 Lincoln Way, Ames 50010; 515-239-1340 Responsible for general administrative and support services such as accounting, auditing, purchasing, information, data processing, personnel, facilities management and fleet operation.