TRANSPORTATION, DEPARTMENT OF

Warren B. Dunham, director; 800 Lincoln Way, Ames 50010; 515-239-1101

ROBERT R. RIGLER, chairman, New Hampton; term expires 1986

DENNIS W. VOY, Maquoketa; term expires 1985

MOLLY SCOTT, Spencer; term expires 1988 DARREL RENSINK, Sioux Center; term expires 1985

DEL VAN HORN, Jefferson; term expires 1988

C. ROGER FAIR, Davenport; term expires 1987

AUSTIN TURNER, Corning; term expires 1986

The Iowa Department of Transportation, established by legislation passed by the 65th General Assembly and mandated to begin official functions on July 1, 1974, is responsible for coordinating the various facets of Iowa's transportation system.

Seven commissioners appointed by the governor are responsible for determination of general operating policies which are carried out by the director of transportation and the

department staff.

The Department of Transportation brings together transportation responsibilities formerly handled by the Aeronautics Commission. Highway Commission, Motor Vehicle divisions of the Department of Public Safety, the Transportation Regulations Division of the Iowa Commerce Commission and the Iowa's Reciprocity Board. Additional responsibilities in the areas of public transit and river transportation are handled by the newly created divisions.

The purpose of the department is summed up in the beginning of the DOT policy statement: "The transportation goal for Iowa is to provide and preserve adequate, safe, and efficient transportation services based on the use and/or benefits that accrue to the

public."

The department includes eight divisions and a Transportation Regulation Authority. The duties and responsibilities of these departmental divisions are summarized below.

Administrative Division

D.L. Tice, division director; 800 Lincoln Way, Ames 50010; 515-289-1340

Provides general administrative and support services such as accounting, auditing. purchasing, information, data processing, personnel, facilities management and fleet operation.

Highway Division

R. H. Given, division director; 800 Lincoln Way, Ames 50010; 515-239-1124

Responsible for planning, design and right-of-way acquisition resulting in construction, and inspection of contracted primary road and bridge projects. Responsible for maintaining Iowa's primary road system for safe usage by the public. Acts as liaison in obtaining and disbursing federal highway funds. Provides assistance to counties and cities in their roadway systems.

Aeronautics Division

Harry A. Hoover, division director; Des Moines Airport, Des Moines 50321; 515-281-4280 Handles aircraft and pilot licensing, aircraft registration and airport programs. Operates state aircraft pool.

Motor Vehicle Division

Gordon Sweitzer, division director; 5268 NW 2nd Ave., Des Moines 50313; 515-281-3697 Responsible for vehicle registration, drivers' licenses, reciprocity and prorate truck registration, motor vehicle inspection, dealers' licenses, truck regulation, traffic weight operations and toll bridge operations.

Rail and Water Division

Les Holland, division director; 800 Lincoln Way, Ames 50010; 515-239-1367

Administers state and federal rail assistance programs; evaluates rail abandonments and rail merger applications; administers grade crossing improvement programs and