# **Department of Transportation**

800 Lincoln Way, Ames 50010

ROBERT R. RIGLER, chairman, New Hampton; term expires 1982.

DENNIS W. VOY, Maguoketa; term expires 1985.

BARBARA J. DUNN, Des Moines; term expires 1984.

DARREL RÉNSINK, Sioux Center; term expires 1985.

DEL VAN HORN, Jefferson; term expires 1984.

C. ROGER FAIR, Davenport; term expires 1983.

BRUCE H. VANDRUFF, Red Oak; term expires 1982.

RAYMOND KASSEL, state director of transportation, Des Moines.

The lower Department of Transportation, established by legislation passed by the 65th General Assembly and mandated to begin official functions on July 1, 1974, is responsible for coordinating the various facets of lowe's transportation system.

Seven commissioners appointed by the governor are responsible for determination of general operating policies which are carried out by the director of tranportation and the

department staff,

The Department of Transportation brings together transportation responsibilities formerly handled by the Aeronautics Commission. Highway Commission, Motor Vehicle Divisions of the Department of Public Safety, the Transportation Regulations Division of the Iowa Commerce Commission and the Iowa's Reciprocity Board. Additional responsibilities in the areas of public transit and river transportation are handled by the newly created divisions.

The purpose of the department is summed up in the beginning of the DOT policy statement: "The goal of the Iowa Department of Transportation is to assure adequate, safe and efficient transportation facilities for Iowa citizens by developing a total system which serves user needs and provides maximum economic and social benefits."

The department includes nine divisions and a Transportation Regulation Board. The duties and responsibilities of these departmental divisions are summarized below.

#### Administration Division

J.M. McCOY, director.

Provides general administrative and support services such as accounting, purchasing, information, data processing, personnel, facilities management and fleet operation.

## **Highway Division**

D.E. McLEAN, director.

Responsible for project planning, design and Right-of-Way acquisition resulting in construction, and inspection of contracted primary road projects. Responsible for maintaining Iowa's primary road system for safe usage by the public. Acts as liaison in obtaining and disbursing federal highway funds.

#### Aeronautics Division

HARRY A. HOOVER, director.

Handles aircraft and pilot licensing, aircraft registration and airport programs. Operates state aircraft pool.

#### Motor Vehicle Division

### GORDON SWEITZER, director.

Responsible for vehicle registration, drivers' licenses, reciprocity and prorate truck registation, motor vehicle inspection, dealers' licenses, truck regulation, traffic weight operations, and toll bridge operations.