# Department of Transportation

800 Lincoln Way, Ames 50010

ROBERT R. RIGLER, Chairman, New Hampton; term expires 1982.

JULES M. BUSKER, Sioux City; term expires 1981.

BARBARA J. DUNN, Des Moines; term expires 1981.

DONALD K. GARDNER, Cedar Rapids; term expires 1981.

WILLIAM F. McGRATH, Melrose; term expires 1980.

ALLAN T. THOMS, Dubuque; term expires 1979.

BRUCE H. VANDRUFF, Red Oak; term expires 1982.

RAYMOND KASSEL, State Director of Transportation, Des Moines.

The Iowa Department of Transportation, established by legislation passed by the 65th General Assembly and mandated to begin official functions July 1, 1974, is responsible for coordination of the various facets of Iowa's transportation system.

Seven Commissioners appointed by the governor are responsible for determination of general operating policies which are carried out by the Director of Transportation and

the Department staff.

The Department of Transportation brings together transportation responsibilites formerly handled by the Aeronautics Commission. Highway Commission, Motor Vehicle Divisions of the Department of Public Safety, the Transportation Regulations Division of the Iowa Commerce Commission and the Iowa's Reciprocity Board. Additional responsibilities in the areas of Public transit and River Transportation are handled by the newly created divisions.

The purpose of the department is summed up in the beginning of the DOT policy statement: "The goal of the Iowa Department of Transportation is to assure adequate, safe and efficient transportation facilities for Iowa citizens by developing a total system which serves user needs and provides maximum economic and socil benefits."

The Department includes nine divisions and a Transportation Regulation Board. The duties and responsibilities of these departmental divisions are summarized below.

#### Administration Division

#### J.M. McCOY, Director

Provides general administrative and support services such as accounting, purchasing, information, data processing, personnel, facilities management and fleet operation.

## **Highway Division**

#### D.E. McLEAN, Director.

Responsible for project planning, design and Right-of-Way acquisition resulting in construction, and inspection of contracted primary road projects. Responsible for maintaining Iowa's primary road system for safe usage by the public. Acts as liaison in obtaining and disbursing federal highway funds.

#### **Aeronautics Division**

#### J.L. LIGHTSEY, Director.

Handles aircraft and pilot licensing, aircraft registration and airport programs. Operates state aircraft pool.

## Motor Vehicle Division

#### R.D. JOHNSON, Director.

Responsible for vehicle registration, drivers licenses, reciprocity and prorate truck registation, motor vehicle inspection, dealer's licenses, truck regulation, traffic weight operations, and toll bridge operations.

# Railroad Transportation Division

#### LES HOLLAND, Director

Responsible for safety inspection of track, research and analysis of rail systems, and the state Rail Assistance Program.

#### **Public Transit Division**

# JOANNE SHORT, Director

Responsible for public transit planning and investigation of feasibility of various types of public transit. Acts as state designee for disbursement of federal mass transit funding.

## **River Transportation Division**

#### J. KENNEDY, Director.

Coordinates use of river transportation with other transportation modes and examines potential for more efficient use of Iowa's waterways.

#### Planning and Research Division

#### IAN MAC GILLIVRAY, Director.

Responsible for DOT policy analysis, advance planning and determination of priorities. Collection of data to be used in transportation planning and coordination of transportation between state and local governments and transportation economic studies.

#### General Counsel Division

## R. GOODWIN, Special Assistant Attorney General.

Legal staff assigned from the Attorney General's office handles legal matters for the DOT.

# Transportation Regulation Board

CONRAD AMEND, term expires 1981. KAREN BELLIS, term expires 1979. [ACK LINGE, term expires 1982.

Regulates routes and fees charged by truck and rail carriers, determines operating regulations and rules on transportation issues, changes in service, applications for public certificates of convenience and necessity.