5. Co-operate with public and private agencies in joint efforts to study and resolve problems relating to the status of women.

6. Publish and disseminate information relating to women and develop other educa-

tional programs.

Provide assistance to organized efforts by communities, organizations, associations, and other groups working toward the improvement of women's status.

# Department of Transportation

State House, Des Moines

ROBERT R. RIGLER, Chairman, New Hampton. STEPHEN GARST, Vice Chairman, Coon Rapids. DONALD GARDNER, Cedar Rapids.

WILLIAM F. McGARTH, Melrose.

BARBARA DUNN, Des Moines.

STANLEY SCHOELERMAN, Spencer.

ALLAN THOMS, Dubuque.

VICTOR PREISSER, State Director of Transportation, Des Moines.

The Iowa Department of Transportation, established by legislation passed by the 65th General Assembly and mandated to begin official functions July 1, 1974, is responsible for coordination of the various facets of Iowa's transportation system.

Seven Commissioners appointed by the Governor are responsible for determination of general operating policies which are carried out by the Director of Transportation

and the Department staff.

The Department of Transportation brings together transportation responsibilities formerly handled by the Aeronautics Commission, Highway Commission, Motor Vehicle Divisions of the Department of Public Safety, the Transportation Regulations Division of the Iowa Commerce Commission and the Iowa Reciprocity Board. Additional responsibilities in the areas of Public Transit and River Transportation are handled by the newly created divisions.

The purpose of the department is summed up in the beginning of the DOT policy statement: "The goal of the Iowa Department of Transportation is to assure adequate, safe and efficient transportation facilities for Iowa citizens by developing a total system which serves user needs and provides maximum economic and social benefits."

The Department includes nine divisions and a Transportation Regulation Board. The duties and responsibilities of these departmental divisions are summarized below.

# Office of Management Review

DENNIS TICE, Acting Director.

Monitors Departmental operations and provides advice and consultation to management regarding the use of Departmental resources; problem areas and improvement opportunities; compliance to laws, rules, and policies.

#### **Administration Division**

R.D. JOHNSON, Director.

Provides general administrative and support services such as accounting, purchasing, information, data processing, personnel, facilities management and fleet operation.

# **Highway Division**

H.E. GUNNERSON, Director-Chief Engineer.

Responsible for project planning, design and Right-of-Way acquisition resulting in construction, and inspection of contracted primary road projects. Responsible for maintaining Iowa's primary road system for safe usage by the public. Acts as liaison in obtaining and disbursing federal highway funds.

# **Aeronautics Division**

M.E. PALMER, Director.

Handles aircraft and pilot licensing, aircraft registration and airport programs. Operates state aircraft pool.

#### Motor Vehicle Division

### J.M.McCOY, Director.

Responsible for vehicle registration, drivers licenses, reciprocity and prorate truck registration, motor vehicle inspection, dealer's licenses, truck regulation, traffic weight operations, and toll bridge operations.

#### Railroad Transportation Division

#### LES HOLLAND, Director.

Responsible for safety inspection of track, research and analysis of rail systems, and the state Rail Assistance Program.

#### **Public Transit Division**

#### T. FRITZ, Director.

Responsible for public transit planning and investigation of feasibility of various types of public transit. Acts as state designee for disbursement of federal mass transit funding.

#### **River Transportation Division**

### J.L. LIGHTSEY, Director.

Coordinates use of river transportation with other transportation modes and examines potential for more efficient use of Iowa's waterways.

### Planning and Research Division

#### R.L. KASSEL, Director.

Responsible for DOT policy analysis, advance planning and determination of priorities. Collection of data to be used in transportation planning and coordination of transportation between state and local governments and transportation economic studies.

#### General Counsel Division

#### A.E. SCHROEDER, Special Assistant Attorney General.

Legal staff assigned from the Attorney General's office handles legal matters for the DOT.

# Transportation Regulation Board

S.Y. ALSTON, Chairperson.

C.A. AMEND

R.D.HOWE

Regulates routes and fees charged by truck and rail carriers, determines operating regulations and rules on transportation issues, changes in service, applications for public certificates of convenience and necessity.

# **Commission on Uniform State Laws**

Term: 4 years.

Code: Section 5.1 and 5.2, 1975 Code of Iowa

ALLAN D. VESTAL, Iowa City. WILLIAM C. BALL, Waterloo. RICHARD F. DOLE, Iowa City.

"The law makes it the duty of each said commissioner to attend the meeting of the national conference of commissioners on uniform state laws, or to arrange for the attendance of at least one of their number at such national conference; to promote uniformity in state laws upon all subjects where uniformity may be deemed desirable and practicable."