## Land Rehabilitation Advisory Board

THOMAS A. BATES, Bellevue. WALT FALL, Bussey. GENE HERTEL, Des Moines. BURL R. PLACE, Humboldt. DR, FRANK SCHALLER, Ames. HUGH TEMPLETON, Knoxville. DR, SAMUEL J. TUTHILL, Iowa City.

The board is required to:

1. Advise the Department of Soil Conservation on any matter relating to administration and enforcement of the mining laws of Iowa.

2. Advise the department with respect to surface-mined land rehabilitation projects.

3. Advise the department on the gathering, preparation and dissemination of information on methods of rehabilitating land which has been surface-mined, and on any state, federal or other financial assistance which may be available to assist in paying the cost of rehabilitation of the land.

## **Department of Transportation**

State House, Des Moines

Commissioners: ROBERT R. RIGLER, Chairman, New Hampton. STEPHEN GARST, Vice Chairman, Coon Rapids. DONALD GARDNER, Cedar Rapids. WILLIAM F. McGRATH, Melrose. ANN PELLEGRENO, Story City. STANLEY SCHOELERMAN, Spencer. ALLAN THOMS, Dubuque.

VICTOR PREISSER, State Director of Transportation, Des Moines.

The Iowa Department of Transportation, established by legislation passed by the 65th General Assembly and mandated to begin official functions July 1, 1974, is responsible for coordination of the various facets of Iowa's transportation system.

Seven Commissioners appointed by the Governor are responsible for determination of general operating policies which are carried out by the Director of Transportation and the Department staff.

The Department of Transportation brings together transportation responsibilities formerly handled by the Aeronautics Commission, Highway Commission, Motor Vehicle Divisions of the Department of Public Safety, the Transportation Regulation Division of the Iowa Commerce Commission and the Iowa Reciprocity Board. Additional responsibilities in the areas of Public Transit and River Transportation are handled by the newly created divisions.

The purpose of the department is summed up in the beginning of the DOT policy statement: "The goal of the Iowa Department of Transportation is to assure adequate, safe and efficient transportation facilities for Iowa citizens by developing a total system which serves user needs and provides maximum economic and social benefits."

The Department includes nine divisions and a Transportation Regulation Board. The duties and responsibilities of these departmental divisions are summarized below.

## **Administration Division**

R. D. JOHNSON, Acting Director

Provides general administrative and support services such as accounting, purchasing, information, data processing, personnel, facilities management and fleet operation.