The Fifty-first General Assembly created a Watchmakers' Board to register all persons or firms engaged in watchmaking or repair. Members of the board are paid \$10 per day during sessions of the board, with maximum compensation of \$300 a year. They are required by law to meet at least once every six months.

## IOWA MENTAL HEALTH AUTHORITY

(Office at the Psychopathic Hospital, Iowa City) Committee on Mental Hygiene

Paul E. Huston, M.D., Director of Psychopathic Hospital, Iowa City James O. Cromwell, M.D., Director of Mental Health of the Board of Control of State Institutions, Des Moines.

Arthur P. Long, M.D., Commissioner of the Iowa State Department of Health, Des Moines.

Robert Hardin, M.D., Dean of the College of Medicine, Iowa City.

Mrs. Joseph F. Rosenfield, State Board of Regents, Des Moines (6-30-69)\* James Harrington, Board of Control of State Institutions, Des Moines (6-30-71)\*

Mrs. Virgil E. Shepard, Iowa State Board of Public Instruction, Allison (1-1-70)\*

Senator Lawrence Putney, Department of Social Welfare, Gladbrook (6-30-67)\*

James D. Mahoney, M.D., Iowa Psychiatric Society, Council Bluffs  $(7 - 3 - 70) \dagger$ 

Thomas C. Piekenbrock, M.D., Sub-Committee on Nervous and Mental Diseases of the Iowa Medical Society, Dubuque (7-3-68)†

Gilbert M. McCarty, Boards of Directors of the Iowa Community Mental Health Centers, Argyle (7-3-68)†

LeRoy K. Berryhill, M.D., Medical Director of Jasper County Mental Health Center, Newton (7-3-70)†

Mrs. A. C. Westerhof, Iowa Association for Mental Health, Carlisle (7-3-69)†

Charles F. Haner, Ph.D., Iowa Psychological Association, Grinnell (7-3-70)†

George W. Sutton, D.O., Iowa Society of Osteopathic Physicians and Surgeons, Mount Pleasant (7-3-69)†

Mrs. Erma I. Bunge, Iowa Association for Retarded Children, Cedar Rapids (7-3-68)†

\* Date of Board Term Expiration

† Date of Mental Hygiene Committee Term Expiration

The Iowa Mental Health Authority was designated by the Sixty-first General Assembly as the agency to receive and administer funds available under the Federal Mental Health Act of July 3, 1946 and a Committee on Mental Hygiene was created to establish policies for administering such funds. Eight members of the committee are ex offi-clo; the other eight are appointed by the governor from the memberships of organizations designated in the statutes. Funds are disbursed under supervision of the state board of regents. Official records are kept at the University of Iowa college of medicine and, in duplicate, in the office of the director of mental health of the state board of control.

# MISSISSIPPI RIVER PARKWAY COMMISSION

Appointed by the Governor for Four-year Terms

Terms Expiring July 1, 1969

William D. McElwee Muscatine	George C. AschomLansing
Joseph A. CarewDubuque	Lynne A. ChamberlinBettendorf
James F. O'BrienKeokuk	-

### Term Expiring July 1, 1971

John McCormally ....Burlington Mark E. Scott ......West Point Stephen Delaney .....Clinton Lorin W. Hamann .....St. Olaf Richard J. Norpel, Sr. ...Bellevue

#### Appointed by State Agencies and Departments

Donald Johnson, Fairfield ......Soil Conservation Committee Dr. William J. Petersen, Iowa City .....State Historical Society Prof. Joseph W. Howe, Iowa City .....Iowa Natural Resources Council Derby D. Thompson, Burlington .....State Highway Commission Rev. Laurence N. Nelson, Bellevue ....State Conservation Commission Prof. Thomas A. Barton, Ames .....Landscape Architecture Dept.

The commission was established by the Fifty-eighth General Assembly to act for the State of Iowa in cooperation with federal agencies and the Iowa State Highway Commission in planning and construction of the Mississippi River Parkway, known as the Great River Road. (C., '62, ch. 308.)

## IOWA NATURAL RESOURCES COUNCIL

State House, Des Moines

H. GARLAND HERSHEY, Chairman; term expires June 30, 1973.
STANLEY L. HAYNES, Vice-Chairman; term expires June 30, 1971.
LOUIS P. CULVER, Secretary; term expires June 30, 1969.
J. ROBERT DOWNING; term expires June 30, 1973.
JOSEPH W. HOWE; term expires June 30, 1973.
WILLIAM G. MURRAY; term expires June 30, 1971.
CLIFFORD M. NASER; term expires June 30, 1973.
J. JUSTIN ROGERS; term expires June 30, 1969.
L. GUY YOUNG; term expires June 30, 1971.
OTHIE R. McMURRY, Director.
R. G. BULLARD, Water Commissioner.

The Iowa Natural Resources Council was created in 1949 by the Fiftythird General Assembly, which assigned the council the duty and authority to establish and enforce an appropriate comprehensive state-wide program for the control of water and the protection of the surface and underground water resources of the state (Chapter 455A, Iowa Code

### McMURRY, Othie R., Ankeny

Director, Iowa National Resources Council Born May 8, 1914, at Promise City, Iowa. Graduated from Promise City High School and Iowa State University, with B.S. in Agricultural Engineering, 1939. Engineer and manager of 8,000 acre farm at Shreveport, La., 1939-1940. Married Mildred Irwin, 1940; sons, Grant and Gary. Operated 380 acre farm in Sac county in 1941. Military service, October 1941 to September 1946. Two years in European theater and nine months in Pacific theater. Colonel in U.S.A.R. U. S. Soil Conservation Service, Sac City, Iowa, 1946-1951; executive secretary of State Soil Conservation Committee, 1951-57. Director of Iowa Natural Resources Council, 1957 to date. Member of Methodist Church, Kiwanis, American Legion, Sportsmen's Club, Reserve Officers Association, Chamber of Commerce, Soil Conservation Society, Masonic Orders, including Shrine. Member of American Society of Agricultural Engineers; Iowa Engineering Society; Iowa Academy of Science, and Ankeny Planning and Zoning Commission.

