BOARD OF PHARMACY

§147.13, 147.14

400 Southwest Eighth Street, Suite E, Des Moines 50309-4688; (515) 281-5944; www.state.ia.us/ibpe/

Terry Witkowski, Interim Executive Director

Name	City	Term Ending
Edward Maier, Chair	Mapleton	April 30, 2017
LaDonna Gratias	Clive	April 30, 2017
Jason Hansel	Bettendorf	April 30, 2018
Edward McKenna	Storm Lake	April 30, 2018
Sharon Meyer	Urbandale	April 30, 2016
James Miller	Dubuque	April 30, 2017
Judith Trumpy	Ames	April 30, 2016

The Iowa Commission of Pharmacy was organized in 1880 under the direction of the Executive Department and established the State Board of Pharmacy the same year. The board was composed of three members. The newly formed board developed a set of standards for individuals to be qualified as pharmacists by examination for the protection of public health, welfare, and safety.

The present board consists of seven members — five professional members and two representatives of the general public. They are all appointed by the Governor to three-year terms and function under the statutory authority of Iowa Code chapters 124, 124A, 124B, 126, 147, 155A, 205, and 272C. The board has the responsibility for administering competency examinations and issuing licenses to qualified applicants.

Through the executive director, the board maintains all records relating to continuing education and licensure by examination or reciprocity, processes all applications for licensure, collects fees, and issues all new and renewal licenses to those persons engaged in the practice of pharmacy, the operation of a pharmacy, and the legal distribution of all prescription drugs, including controlled substances, into and within Iowa. The board has the authority to promulgate administrative rules and to promote and enforce minimum professional standards of practice.

The board is responsible for administering the regulatory provisions of the Iowa Code relating to the legal aspects of professional practice, pharmacy technician activities, functions of pharmacy support persons, and the licensing of drug manufacturers, wholesalers, and distributors, and community, institutional, and nonresident pharmacies; the adulteration and labeling requirements for drugs; the purity, quality, and strength of drugs; the Controlled Substances Act and a state registration program for all legal handlers of controlled substances; the sale, distribution, labeling, and records requirements of transactions for designated poisonous substances; and precursor substances.

The board administers the Pharmacist-Intern Training Program, which prepares pharmacy students for the contemporary practice of community or hospital pharmacy.

PLUMBING AND MECHANICAL SYSTEMS BOARD §105.3

Department of Public Health, Lucas State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; (866) 280-1521

Name	City	Term Ending/Type
Jim Cooper, Chair	Urbandale	April 30, 2017
Carol Crane	Knoxville	April 30, 2017
Donald Hansen	Des Moines	April 30, 2016
Jason Hayes	Norwalk	April 30, 2018
Kevin Kiene	Riverside	April 30, 2016
Toni Knight	Ankeny	April 30, 2018
Robert Kunkel	Clarence	April 30, 2016
Susan Pleva	Woodward	April 30, 2018

Brian Bishop, designee of Commissioner of Public Safety	Statutory
Ken Sharp, designee of Director of Public Health	Statutory

COMMISSION ON TOBACCO USE PREVENTION AND CONTROL

§142A.3

Department of Public Health, Lucas State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; (515) 281-8857

Name	City	Term Ending/Type		
Chad A. Jensen, Chair	Carroll	April 30, 2018		
Jenn Habel	Dubuque	June 30, 2016		
	Keosauqua			
Caitlyn Martin	Vinton	June 30, 2018		
Brian Pins	Waverly	April 30, 2017		
	Adel			
Mikki Stier	Ankeny	April 30, 2017		
Ex officio, nonvoting member				
Austin Henderson, presiding officer of Iowa Students for				
Tobacco Education and Prevention		Statutory		
Ex officio, nonvoting members from the General Assembly				
Senate				
Julian B. Garrett	Indianola	January 8, 2017		
Herman C. Quirmbach	Ames	January 8, 2017		
House				
Marti AndersonJoel Fry	Des Moines			
5 C C 1 1 1 7	Osceoia	January 0, 2017		

BOARDS OF THE PROFESSIONAL LICENSURE DIVISION

§135.11A

Lucas State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; (515) 281-6959

Boards for health-related professions, appointed by the Governor, are administratively placed in the Professional Licensure Division. The following boards receive administrative support from the Professional Licensure Division.

BOARD OF ATHLETIC TRAINING

§147.13, 147.14

Lucas State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; (515) 281-6959 Venus Vendoures Walsh, Board Administrator

Name	City	Term Ending
Pamela Davis, Chair	Bettendorf	April 30, 2017
Thomas Green	Clive	April 30, 2018
Josh Hamann	Storm Lake	April 30, 2017
Shaun McCarthy	Iowa City	April 30, 2016
		April 30, 2018
Susan Theisen	Dyersville	April 30, 2017
Christopher Wiedmann	Des Moines	April 30, 2016

The board, responsible for the licensing of athletic trainers, is composed of three licensed athletic trainers, three licensed physicians, and one public member. The athletic trainer law was enacted in 1994, and Iowa Code chapters 147, 152D, and 272C are the principal laws governing the board.