## IOWA OFFICIAL REGISTER

## STATE BOARD OF HEALTH

Ch 136

Department of Public Health, Lucas State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; (515) 281-7689 Gerd Clabaugh, Director of Public Health, Secretary

Name	City	Term Ending
Michael Wolnerman, Chair	Des Moines	June 30, 2016
Ron Abrons	Coralville	June 30, 2016
Ted George	Rockwell City	June 30, 2018
Tonya Gray	Mason City	June 30, 2017
Jay Hansen	Mason City	June 30, 2018
Michael Kanellis	Iowa City	June 30, 2018
Vickie Lewis	Marshalltown	June 30, 2018
Norman Pawlewski	Des Moines	June 30, 2016
Michell Ricker	Ellston	June 30, 2017
Maggie Tinsman	Bettendorf	June 30, 2016
Karen Woltman	Swisher	June 30, 2017

The State Board of Health is the policymaking body for the Department of Public Health. It has the powers and duties to adopt administrative rules and regulations. It advises and makes recommendations to the Governor, General Assembly, and the Director of Public Health relative to public health, hygiene, and sanitation.

## BOARD OF MEDICINE

§147.13, 147.14 400 Southwest Eighth Street, Suite C, Des Moines 50309-4686; (515) 281-5171; www.medicalboard.iowa.gov Mark Bowden, Executive Director

Name	City	Term Ending
Diane Clark	Lake Mills	April 30, 2017
Diane Cortese	Urbandale	April 30, 2016
Mary Romanco	Pleasantville	April 30, 2018
Physician members		
Hamed Tewfik, Chair	Iowa City	April 30, 2017
Julie Carmody	Clive	April 30, 2016
Ronald Cheney	Carroll	April 30, 2017
Allison Schoenfelder	Akron	April 30, 2016
Kyle Ulveling	Carroll	April 30, 2018
	West Des Moines	

The Board of Medical Examiners was created by the General Assembly in 1886. The Board of Osteopathic Examiners was created by the General Assembly in 1921. These two agencies became a composite Board of Medical Examiners by action of the General Assembly in 1963. In 1994, the General Assembly gave the board the authority to register acupuncturists, and subsequently the licensure and regulation of acupuncturists when the law was changed in 2001. In 2007, the General Assembly changed the board's name to the Board of Medicine. Board members are appointed by the Governor for three-year terms, with confirmation by the Senate. The board is composed of 10 members — five medical physicians, two osteopathic physicians, and three non-physician public members. In addition, the board can have up to 10 alternate members who can serve on administrative panels in contested case hearings. The board has six or seven regularly scheduled teleconference meetings annually. The board is responsible for administering and enforcing state laws and administrative rules governing the licensure and practice