CYNTHIA CARTER, Forest City; term expires 1999 FRANCES FARUS, Davenport; term expires 1998 SHIRLEY FINERAN, Sioux City; term expires 1998 THOMAS GLENN, Des Moines; term expires 1999 JOE HERRITY, West Des Moines; term expires 2000 ISAIAH JOHNSON, Denison; term expires 1999 WAYNE KOBBERDAHL, Council Bluffs; term expires 1998 HAROLD MANDERS, Dallas Center; term expires 1998 MARY NEGAARD, Rock Valley; term expires 2000 JILL OLSEN-VIRLEE, Marion; term expires 2000 THOMAS POHLMAN, Des Moines; term expires 2000 ROBERT PRINS, Mt. Pleasant; term expires 2000 CHRISTINE SCHMITZ, Dubuque; term expires 1999 JAMES SWAIM, Iowa City; term expires 1999 DAVID WEISS, Ankeny; term expires 1998

HEALTH, DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC

Christopher Atchison, director; Lucas State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; 515/281-5605

GARY A. PEASLEY, M.D., chair, Marshalltown; term expires 2000 C.F. BARRETT, D.D.S., Davenport; term expires 1998 ARTHUR L. GRATIAS, Mason City; term expires 1998 TED P. GEORGE, D.O., Rockwell City; term expires 2000 JANE HASEK, R.N., Ed.D., Reinbeck; term expires 1999 NANCY MOUNTS, Sioux City; term expires 1999 MARGARET "PEG" O'CONNOR, R.Ph., Urbandale; term expires 1999 PATRICIA PEDERSEN, Harlan; term expires 2000 NANCYLEE SIEBENMANN, Cedar Rapids; term expires 1999

The Iowa State Board of Health is the policy-making body for the Iowa Department of Public Health, has the powers and duties to adopt, promulgate, amend and repeal rules and regulations, and advises or makes recommendations to the governor, General Assembly, and the director of Public Health relative to public health, hygiene, and sanitation. Under the direction of the director, the Iowa Department of Public Health exercises general supervision of the state's public health; promotes public hygiene and sanitation; and, unless otherwise provided, enforces law relating to public health. The department's programs are conducted through four major divisions and the Center for Health Policy

Planning and Administration, Division of

David Fries, director; Lucas State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; 515/281-5604

The Division of Planning and Administration provides administrative support to the department including fiscal management, health planning, administrative rules, office services, computer management, special projects, information management, purchasing, statistical services, and personnel documents processing. It also administers the vital records section, which is responsible for the registration and issuance of birth, death, marriage, and other confidential records in accordance with Chapters 22 and 144, *Code of Iowa*. The Certificate of Need Program is in the division as well as the Chronic Renal Disease Program, Emergency Medical Services, and Organized Delivery Systems.

Certificate of Need

Health Facilities Council members are appointed by the governor.

MARION NEELY, Iowa City; term expires 1999 JONI KEITH, Ottumwa; term expires 1999 KATHLEEN E. KREGEL, Fort Dodge; term expires 2001 LEE MILLER, Cedar Falls; term expires 2003 HARRY RASDAL, Spencer; term expires 2001

Prospective Minor Parents Program Advisory Committee CAMERON B. ARNOLD, chair, Spirit Lake; term expires 1998 CHRIS ATCHISON, Des Moines; term expires 1998 PATRICIA BOUSKA, Ridgeway; term expires 1998