# HEALTH, DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC

Christopher Atchison, director; Lucas State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; 515/ 281-5605

GARY A. PEASLEY, M.D., chair, Marshalltown; term expires 1991 C.F. BARRETT, D.D.S., Davenport; term expires 1992 VALISSA BERG, Cedar Rapids; term expires 1993 MARY LOU FREEMAN, Storm Lake; term expires 1991 RANAE GIPP, Decorah, term expires 1992 ARTHUR L. GRATIAS, Mason City; term expires 1992 JANE HASEK, Reinbeck; term expires 1993 MARGARET "PEG" O'CONNOR, R.Ph., Urbandale; term expires 1993 DANTE R. TORIELLO, Des Moines; term expires 1991

The Iowa State Board of Health is the policy-making body for the Iowa Department of Public Health, has the powers and duties to adopt, promulgate, amend and repeal rules and regulations, and advises or make recommendations to the governor, General Assembly, and the director of Public Health relative to public health, hygiene, and sanitation. Under the direction of the director, the Iowa Department of Public Health exercises general supervision of the state's public health; promotes public hygiene and sanitation; and, unless otherwise provided, enforces law relating to public health. The department's programs are conducted through four major divisions and the Office of Health Planning.

## Central Administration/Professional Licensure, Division of

Robert V. Knight, director; Lucas State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; 515/281-5604

The Division of Central Administration/Professional Licensure provides administrative support to the department including fiscal management, administrative rules, office services, computer management, legislative liaison activities, special projects, information management, purchasing, statistical services, and personnel documents processing. It also administers the vital records section, which is responsible for the registration and issuance of birth, death, marriage, and other confidential records in accordance with Chapters 22 and 144, Code of Iowa.

### **Professional Licensure**

Boards of health-related examiners, appointed by the governor, are administratively placed in the Professional Licensure division.

The following boards receive administrative support from the Professional Licensure Division.

### Barber Examiners

Harriett L. Miller, administrator; Lucas State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; 515/281-4416

MARK ALLAN STANSBERRY, chair, Sioux City; term expires 1991 KAREN ANN VOECKS, secretary, Des Moines; term expires 1993 CARROLL W. ANDERSON, Waterloo; term expires 1993 AL C. MAIERS, Dubuque; term expires 1992 DONNA J. WEISS, Dow City; term expires 1991

The board, responsible for the licensing and inspection of approximately 2,200 barbers and 1,200 establishments, is composed of three licensed barbers and two public members. The barber licensing law was enacted in 1927, and Chapters 147, 158, and 258A are the principal laws governing the board.

### **Cosmetology Examiners**

Barb Charls, administrator; Lucas State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; 515/ 242-5936

ROGER A. CHAPMAN, chair, Cedar Falls; term expires 1991 MAXINE O. COCHRAN, Oskaloosa; term expires 1991 RUTH A. DAGGETT, Kent; term expires 1993 JAMES O'NEALL, Pocahontas; term expires 1993 JOANN BOELMAN PALS, Mason City; term expires 1992

The board, responsible for the licensing and inspection of approximately 20,000 cosmetologists and 5,000 establishments, is composed of three licensed cosmetologists and two public members. The cosmetology licensing law was enacted in 1927, and Chapters 147, 157, and 258A are the principal laws governing the board.