Iowa State Department of Health

The Iowa State Board of Health is the policy-making body for the State Department of Health and has the powers and duties to adopt, promulgate, amend and repeal rules and regulations, and advise or make recommendations to the governor, General Assembly, and the commissioner of Public Health relative to public health, hygiene and sanitation.

The Iowa State Board of Health is comprised of the following members appointed by the governor:

FREDERIC M. ASHLER, M.D.; JOHN I. BALLENSKY, R.Ph., Sigourney; WILLIAM BROWN, D.D.S., Des Moines; KENNETH L. CLAYTON, D.O., Spirit Lake; JOHN L. CLEASBY, Ph.D., Ames; MARY KENNEDY R.N., Cedar Falls; AARON P. RANDOLPH, M.D., Anamosa; PAUL SEEBOHN, M.D., Iowa City; PAUL W. THIELKING, O.D., Des Moines.

Commissioner: NORMAN L. PAWLEWSKI, B.S., appointed by the governor. Assistants to the commissioner: appointed by the commissioner of public health. For Medical Affairs—RONALD D. ECKOFF, M.D., M.P.H.

Central Administration: Fiscal Office, Data Processing, Communications, Personnel Office, Office Services, Statistical Services, Vital Records—PAUL CARLSON, B.S., M.P.A.

For External Affairs: Legislative Services, Legal Services, Licensing and Certification—TED R. ELLIS, B.A.

Under the direction of the commissioner, the Iowa State Department of Health exercises general supervision of the state's public health, promotes public hygiene and sanitation, and, unless otherwise provided, enforces law relating to public health. The department's programs are conducted through service areas composed of appropriate divisions.

Office for Health Planning and Development

COOPER L. PARKER, director.

The Office for Health Planning and Development is responsible for:

- 1. Conducting the health planning activities of the state and implementing those parts of the State Health Plan and the plans of the Health Systems Agencies within the state which relate to the government of the state.
- 2. Preparing, reviewing and revising, as necessary (but at least annually), a preliminary State Health Plan.
- 3. Assisting the Statewide Health Coordinating Council in the performance of its functions generally.
- 4. Serving as the designated planning agency of the state for the purposes of Section 1122 of the Social Security Act when an agreement is approved pursuant to such section, and administering the State Certificate of Need program which applies to new institutional health services proposed to be offered or developed within the state.
- 5. Making findings as to the need for new institutional health services after consideration of recommendations submitted by the Health Systems Agencies.

Statewide Health Coordinating Council

Members are appointed by the governor. They are: C. F. Barrett, D.D.S., Davenport; Karen Blue, Red Oak; Barbara H. Brody, Davenport; Thomas R. Carlyle, Denison; Ardelle Conner, Glenwood; Leland M. Couch, Des Moines; Robert M. Dunlop, Orange City; Donald W. Dunn, Des Moines; Robert H. Evans, Logan; Gwendolyn W. Fowler, Des Moines; Marilee Fredericks, Ph.D., Des Moines; Robert G. Gibbs, Des Moines; Lois Haecker, Des Moines; Susan M. Hallock, Council Bluffs; Helen B. Henderson, Des Moines; Lynne M. Illes, Des Moines; Marcus L. Jarrett, Davenport; Linda Kamp, Davenport; Edward R. Lynn, Council Bluffs; Wayne H. Maddocks, Des Moines; Martha A. Nash, Waterloo; Robert A. Pfaff, M.D., Dubuque; Herman Rubel, Laurens; Ward Scott,