serving as members of the faculty of the University of Iowa College of Dentistry.

The board determines standards for issuance of permits to qualified dentists allowing licensees to participate in the use of conscious sedation and general anesthesia in the dental office. The board issues certificates of qualification to qualified dental assistants, allowing auxiliaries to participate in dental radiography under the supervision of a licensed dentist.

The board has the authority to promulgate and enforce administrative rules.

The board has the power to impose licensee discipline, which includes the investigation of complaints and initiation and prosecution of disciplinary proceedings.

Health Planning, Office of

Louise Lex, Ph.D., administrator; Lucas State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; 515-281-4346

The Office of Health Planning is concerned with developing needed health services and facilities, containing costs, and improving health care quality and accessibility. The office is charged with increasing citizen participation in planning through county health planning committees, task forces, and the Certificate of Need program.

Specific responsibilities include:

1. Coordinating county health planning initiations program activities related to health promotion and disease prevention.

2. Administering the State Certificate of Need program, which applies to institutional health services proposed to be offered or developed within the state.

3. Providing staff analysis as to the need for institutional health facilities and services to the Health Facilities Council.

4. Administering a financial assistance program for eligible persons requiring kidney dialysis or transplantation.

5. Preparing the state plan for substance abuse and related reports.

6. Conducting medical quality of care reviews for health maintenance organizations.

7. Coordinating all departmental administration rules.

8. Leading staffing the Health Data Commission; monitoring data collection and analysis; developing reports; and responding to data requests.

Health Facilities Council members are appointed by the governor and include:

ANN L. DORR, Marcus, term expires 1995

JOHN BOTKIN, Cedar Rapids; term expires 1993

NANCY JONES, Ainsworth; term expires 1991 LYLE SIMPSON, Des Moines; term expires 1993

JOEL WEINSTEIN, Ankeny; term expires 1995 Renal Disease Advisory Committee members are appointed by the director of Public

Health and include:

MARTHA CRIST, insurance division representative, Des Moines; term expires 1991 BILL DEETS, non-renal hospital administrator representative, Perry; term expires

DENISE EILERS, consumer representative, Davenport; term expires 1991

MARGERY FEARING, R.N., nephrology nurses representative, Iowa City; term expires 1990

MICHAEL T. FLOOD, D.O., medical profession representative, Des Moines; term expires 1991

C.T. FLYNN, M.D., medical profession representative, Des Moines; term expires

RUTH HOLLIDAY, renal social work representative, Iowa City; term expires 1989 PAULA LAWSON-MOORE, consumer representative, Lone Tree; term expires 1992 JOHN A. MAY, M.D., medical intermediary representative, Des Moines; term expires

ROGER SCHULER, renal hospital administrator representative, Waterloo; term expires 1990

BECKY STADLMAN, social security administration representative, Des Moines; term expires 1990

2 VACANCIES