Health Facilities Council

Members are appointed by the governor: They are: Sara T. Wissing, Davenport; Jane F. Ecklund, Jefferson; Polly A. Granzow, Eldora; Gage E. Parker, Shenandoah; Catherine G. Williams, Des Moines.

Division of Community Health

Ronald D. Eckoff, M.D., M.P.H., chief, Lucas State Office Bldg., Des Moines 50319 515-281-4910

The Division of Community Health promotes and supports adequate and effective public health services at the local level. The Nursing Section assists communities in developing health services by providing technical advice, consultation and financial assistance. The Homemaker-Home Health Aide Section provides financial assistance and consultation to counties in support of the provision of homemaker-home health aide and chore services. The Deaf Services Section is striving to improve the availability of services to the deaf and hearing impaired. The Renal Disease Section provides financial assistance for medically-related dialysis and transplantation expenses. The Emergency Medical Services Section of the division conducts activities designed to improve the level of emergency medical services available to Iowans.

Deaf Services Advisory Committee

Members are appointed by the governor: Shirley Hampton, chair, Davenport; Don Kissell, Sr., vice chair, Des Moines; Greg Desrosiers, Council Bluffs; Sister Linda Roby, Des Moines; Karen Peterson, Mason City; Jack Purcell, Algona; Melanie Raulerson, Decorah.

Renal Disease Advisory Committee

Members are appointed by the Commissioner of Public Health. Jane Choquette, Des Moines; Paul Dieke, Des Moines; William M. Deets, Spirit Lake; William R. Durst, Des Moines; Kennedy Fawcett, M.D., Ames; Margery Fearing, R.N., Iowa City; C.T. Flynn, M.D., Des Moines; Willis F. Fry, Waterloo; Denise Horner, Des Moines; John A. May, M.D., Des Moines; Maynard Meservey, M.D., Des Moines; Carrol Roy, Iowa City; John Van Vliet, Pella.

Governor's Emergency Medical Services Advisory Council

Members are appointed by the governor. Don E. Boyle, M.D., chair, Sioux City; Alice Akers, Orient; Rita Barnes, L.P.N., Fort Dodge; John Collins, M.D., Davenport; Jack Crandall, Des Moines; Tony Crandall, Des Moines; Richard Dunlop, Council Bluffs; Fred Ertl, Jr., Peosta; Walt Gary, Fairfield; Bruce Hardy, M.D., Ames; Jane Hasek, R.N. Reinbeck; Darwin Melcher, Decorah; Timothy Trosky, Cedar Rapids; Marge Wasicek, Mason City.

Advanced Emergency Medical Care Council

Members are appointed by the State Board of Health. They are: Cheryl Archer, R.N., Sioux City; G. Leon Berkley, D.O., Winterset; Jeffrey Bowling, E.M.T.-P., Sumner; Bill Bruce, E.M.T.-P., Ottumwa; Ronald D. Eckoff, M.D., M.P.H., Des Moines; Robert G. Hathaway, M.D., Waterloo; Michael Holbach, E.M.T.-II, Story City; William E. Kettlekamp, M.D., Marion; James D. Kimball, M.D., Des Moines; Jerry Long, E.M.T.-A., Webster City; Pam Miller, R.N., Waterloo; Ernest O. Theilen, M.D., Iowa City.

Division of Health Facilities

Dana L. Petrowsky, chief; Lucas State Office Bldg., Des Moines 50819 515-281-4115

The Division of Health Facilities is comprised of several sections and programs administering activities directed at improving specific aspects of institutional health care. These sections employ programs of education, consultation and regulation to improve the safety of the physical plant and improve the quality of health care provided for patients in hospitals and nursing homes. It certifies facilities for participation in the Title 18 Medicare and the Title 19 Medicaid programs. Furthermore, it regulates these facilities through state licensing authority.