JOSEPH G. MAY, The Adjutant General, Member. RAY J. KAUFFMAN, Executive Secretary.

Chapter 35 Code of Iowa 1962, as amended, created a board to be known as the Bonus Board to consist of the state auditor, state treasurer, adjutant general, and the adjutant of the Iowa department of The American Legion. The board was empowered to establish rules and regulations, as necessary, to carry out the provisions of the law pertaining to administration of bonus and disability funds for veterans of World War I and war orphans' educational funds. Chapter 74, Acts Regular Session of the Sixtieth General Assembly amended Chapter 35A and 35B Code 1962 whereby administration of service compensation funds for World War II and Korean veterans was placed under the control of the Bonus Board.

Chapter 64, Acts First Session of the Sixty-Fifth General Assembly placed administration of the Vietnam Service Compensation funds under the control of the bonus board.

State Armory Board

Appointed by the Governor.

MG JOSEPH G. MAY, Chairman, Des Moines. W. K. BACKMAN, Des Moines. BG FRANCIS KELLY, Dubuque. MG ROBERT L. GAMRATH, Fairfield. BG ROGER W. GILBERT, Des Moines. BG JOSEPH B. FLATT, Ankeny. LTG FRANK P. WILLIAMS, Cedar Falls.

Section 29A.57 Code of Iowa 1966 sets forth the authority, powers and responsibilities of the board. Briefly summarized, the armory board is a state agency created by statute for the purpose of acting on behalf of the state in connection with the procurement of armory and other facilities for the administration and training of the national guard.

Department of Public Safety

Commissioner's Office, Lucas State Office Building.

Appointed by Governor.

CHARLES LARSON, Commissioner of Public Safety.
ROBERT G. HOLETZ, Deputy Commissioner of Public Safety.
JACK W. LINGE, Legal Counsel.

Duties of State Department of Public Safety

The Iowa State Department of Public Safety was created by the 48th General Assembly (1939), through the consolidation of several departments and divisions under one executive designated as commissioner of public safety. This consolidation allowed for coordination among enforcement and safety agencies at all levels of government within Iowa. Today, the Iowa Department of Public Safety includes the following divisions:

Division of Highway Patrol

COLONEL ED DICKINSON, Polk County, Chief.

The Iowa Highway Safety Patrol was created by the 46th General Assembly (1935) and brought to its present strength of 410 uniformed members by the 61st General Assembly (1965).

The duties of the highway patrol are to enforce all motor vehicle laws, to exercise general peace officer powers (with restrictions stated in Chapter 80, Code of Iowa, 1962); to investigate traffic accidents occurring on the highways; to provide emergency medical care and assist in the removal of persons injured as a result of traffic crashes; to provide assistance to local law enforcement agencies upon request or when the need is evident and to promote highway safety through its own programs.