The Civil Defense Division is under the management of the Civil Defense Director, who is appointed by the governor, for a four year term.

The director is vested with the authority to administer civil defense and emergency planning affairs within the state of Iowa, including manmade or natural disasters, and is also responsible for preparing and executing the civil defense and emergency planning programs of the state, subject to the direction of the governor and supervisory control of the executive director of the Department of Public Defense and the advice of the council.

The director is also responsible for the preparation of a comprehensive plan and program for the civil defense and emergency resources management of the state, such plan and program to be integrated into and coordinated with the civil defense plans and emergency planning of the federal government and of other states to the fullest possible extent, and to coordinate the preparation of plans and programs for civil defense and emergency planning for the political subdivisions and various departments of the state. Such plans are to be integrated into and coordinated with a comprehensive state emergency program for the state of Iowa as coordinated by the director of public defense to the fullest possible extent. The director is also responsible for making such studies and surveys of the industries, resources and facilities in the state of Iowa as may be necessary to determine the capabilities of the state for civil defense and emergency resources management and to plan for the most efficient emergency use thereof.

Soldiers' Bonus Board

LLOYD R. SMITH, Auditor of State, Chairman.

GLENN M. DUGGER, Adjutant, Iowa Department The American Legion, Secretary.

MAURICE E. BARINGER, Treasurer of State, Member.

JOSEPH G. MAY, The Adjutant General, Member.

RAY J. KAUFFMAN, Executive Secretary.

Section 35 Code of Iowa 1962, as amended, created a board to be known as the Bonus Board to consist of the state auditor, state treasurer, adjutant general, and the adjutant of the Iowa department of the American Legion. The board was empowered to establish rules and regulations, as necessary, to carry out the provisions of the law pertaining to administration of bonus and disability funds for veterans of World War I and war orphans' educational funds. Chapter 74, Acts Regular Session of the Sixtieth General Assembly amended Chapters 35A and 35B Code 1962 whereby administration of service compensation funds for World War II and Korean veterans was placed under the control of the Bonus Board.

State Armory Board

Appointed by the Governor.

MG JOSEPH G. MAY, Chairman, Des Moines. W. K. BACKMAN, Des Moines.

BG KEITH E. McWILLIAMS. Des Moines.

MG ROBERT L. GAMRATH, Fairfield.

BG ROGER W. GILBERT, Des Moines. BG JOSEPH B. FLATT, Winterset.

LTG FRANK P. WILLIAMS, Des Moines.

Section 29A.57 Code of Iowa 1966 sets forth the authority, powers and responsibilities of the board. Briefly summarized, the armory board is a state agency created by statute for the purpose of acting on behalf of the state in connection with the procurement of armory and other facilities for the administration and training of the national guard.

Department of Public Safety

Office located on first floor of Lucas State Office Building.

Commissioner appointed by the Governor.

MICHAEL M. SELLERS, Commissioner of Public Safety. CARROLL L. BIDLER, Deputy Commissioner.

Duties of State Department of Public Safety

The Iowa State Department of Public Safety was created by the Forty-eighth General Assembly (1939) by consolidating several departments and divisions under one executive designated as commissioner of public safety. The purpose of this consolidation was to facilitate coordination among enforcement agencies and safety organizations on all levels of government within Iowa. Today, the State Department of Public Safety includes the following divisions:

Division of Highway Safety Patrol

HOWARD R. MILLER, Polk County, Colonel.

The Iowa highway safety patrol was created by the Forty-sixth General Assembly (1935) and brought to its present strength of 400 uniformed members by the Sixty-first General Assembly (1965).

The duties of the highway patrol are to enforce all motor vehicle laws, to exercise general police powers (with restrictions stated in Chapter 80, Code of Iowa, 1962); to investigate serious traffic accidents occurring on the highways; to conduct hearings in connection with the suspension of operators' and chauffers' licenses; to conduct examinations and issue drivers' licenses, and to promote highway safety through its own programs.

Division of Criminal Investigation

ROBERT D. BLAIR, Polk County, Chief.

County and municipal enforcement agencies may come to the criminal investigation division for assistance in difficult criminal investigations, though the division is not a local policing unit. The division is called upon to investigate matters involving the internal security of state government, and to co-operate with elective and appointive officials in such investigations.

The division is divided into investigative and identification sections, and a technical laboratory. The investigative section assigns special agents to work with local peace officers who have requested assistance in special criminal cases; the identification section contains fingerprints, criminal records, photographs and other information necessary to effective criminal law enforcement, and the modern technical laboratory includes the scientific equipment and the technicians necessary to effective criminal investigation and crime prevention.