Section 35 Code of Iowa 1962, as amended, created a board to be known as the Bonus Board to consist of the state auditor, state treasurer, adjutant general, and the adjutant of the Iowa department of the American Legion. The board was empowered to establish rules and regulations, as necessary, to carry out the provisions of the law pertaining to administration of bonus and disability funds for veterans of World War I and war orphans' educational funds. Chapter 74, Acts Regular Session of the Sixtieth General Assembly amended Chapters 35A and 35B Code 1962 whereby administration of service compensation funds for World War II and Korean veterans was placed under the control of the Bonus Board.

State Armory Board

Appointed by the Governor.

MG JOSEPH G. MAY, Chairman, Des Moines.

RICHARD W. GOEWEY, Des Moines.

W. K. BACKMAN, Des Moines.

BG KEITH E. McWILLIAMS, Des Moines.

MG ROBERT L. GAMRATH, Fairfield.

BG ROGER W. GILBERT, Des Moines.

BG JOSEPH B. FLATT, Winterset.

LTG FRANK P. WILLIAMS, Des Moines.

Section 29A.57 Code of Iowa 1966 sets forth the authority, powers and responsibilities of the board. Briefly summarized, the armory board is a state agency created by statute for the purpose of acting on behalf of the state in connection with the procurement of armory and other facilities for the administration and training of the national guard.

Department of Public Safety

(Office located on first floor of State Office Building) Commissioner appointed by the Governor. Term four years.

JACK M. FULTON, Commissioner of Public Safety. ROBERT D. TAHA, Deputy Commissioner.



FULTON, Jack M., Cedar Rapids Democrat Commissioner of Public Safety

Born in Cedar Rapids, Iowa, on March 24, 1932. Graduated Coe College, B.A., 1954; University of Iowa Law School, 1957. Married Joan Williams, 1954, and they have one son, Craig. Methodist. Member of Iowa and American Bar Associations; Kiwanis. Linn County Attorney January 1, 1963 to April 30, 1967. Practiced law in Cedar Rapids 1958-1967.