NATURAL RESOURCES, DEPARTMENT OF

Larry J. Wilson, director; Wallace State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; 515/281-5145

The Department of Natural Resources was established on July 1, 1986 by combining the Conservation Commission, the Department of Water. Air and Waste Management, the Geological Survey, and part of the Energy Policy Council.

The department director is appointed by the governor and requires Senate confirmation. There are two commissions in the department: the Natural Resource Commission and the Environmental Protection Commission. Both commissions have broad authority to set policy and adopt rules and standards for the management and protection of the state's natural resources. The department director is responsible for the administration of the agency.

The agency is charged with the management and protection of the state's fish and wildlife, parks, forests and preserves, and providing for public use of these resources. It also has jurisdiction over state-owned meandered lakes and streams. Additionally, the agency is responsible for improving and maintaining the quality of the state's water, air, and land resources. Floodplain management, water quality in public water supplies, air and water pollution control and enforcement, waste management, and assisting communities in grant applications in these fields are included in the department's operations.

Energy conservation and research, as well as data collection and reporting on the state's geological resources, are also functions of the agency.

To help meet these operational duties, the department also employs administrative support groups in public information, licensing, office management, data processing, and other similar roles.

Environmental Protection Commission

WILLIAM EHM, Creston; term expires 2001
RANDAL GIANNETTO, Marshalltown; term expires 2001
ROZANNE KING, Mondamin: term expires 2001
DEAN McWILLIAMS, Montezuma; term expires 1999
CHARLOTTE MOHR, Eldridge: term expires 1999
KATHRYN MURPHY, LeMars; term expires 2001
GARY PRIEBE, Algona; term expires 1999
TERRANCE TOWNSEND, Newton; term expires 2001
RITA VENNER, Breda; term expires 1999

Natural Resources Commission

RICHARD GARRELS, Mt. Pleasant; term expires 2003 ANTHONY HOUGH. Harlan; term expires 2003 MARIAN L. KIEFFER, Bellevue; term expires 2001 THOMAS MONROE, Sigourney; term expires 1999 JOAN SCHNEIDER, Okoboji; term expires 2001 DOUGLAS R. SMALLEY, Des Moines; term expires 1999 LAVONNE TROYNA, New Hampton; term expires 1999 State Forester: WILLIAM FARRIS

State Geologist: DONALD KOCH

Preserves, State Advisory Board For

c/o Iowa Department of Natural Resources; Wallace State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; 515/281-5145

DIANE FORD-SHIVVERS, Norwalk; term expires 2000
JOEL HANES, Mason City; term expires 1999
GARY PHILLIPS, Estherville; term expires 1999
SHIRLEY SHERMER, Maquoketa; term expires 1998
JOHN STEEGE, Maynard; term expires 2000
LOIS TIFFANY, Ames; term expires 1998
LARRY J. WILSON, Des Moines; director, Dept. of Natural Resources, Statutory

The 61st General Assembly in 1965 authorized the establishment of a state system of preserves to maintain areas with unusual flora, fauna, geological, archaeological, scenic, or historical features as nearly as possible in their natural condition. The advisory board will recommend dedication of certain areas as preserves, make rules and regulations for their management, and recommend the inclusion of additional public private lands in the preserves system.