NATURAL RESOURCES, DEPARTMENT OF

Larry J. Wilson, director; Wallace State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; 515-281-5145

The Department of Natural Resources was established on July 1, 1986 by combining the Conservation Commission, the Department of Water, Air and Waste Management, the Geological Survey, and part of the Energy Policy Council.

The department director is appointed by the governor and requires Senate confirmation. There are two commissions in the department: the Natural Resource Commission and the Environmental Protection Commission. Both commissions have broad authority to set policy, and adopt rules and standards for the management and protection of the state's natural resources. The department director is responsible for the administration of the agency.

The agency is charged with the management and protection of the state's fish and wildlife, parks, forests and preserves, and with providing for public use of these resources. It also has jurisdiction over state-owned meandered lakes and streams. Additionally, the agency is responsible for improving and maintaining the quality of the state's water, air, and land resources. Floodplain management, water quality in public water supplies, air and water pollution control and enforcement, waste management, and assisting communities in grant applications in these fields are included in the department's operations.

Energy conservation and research, as well as data collection and reporting on the state's geological resources, are also functions of the agency.

To help meet these operational duties, the department also employs administrative support groups in public information, licensing, office management, data processing, and other similar roles.

Environmental Protection Commission

JAMES M. EARLEY, Waterloo; term expires 1993 RICHARD C. HARTSUCK, Des Moines; term expires 1993 CHARLOTTE MOHR, Eldridge; term expires 1991 MARGARET M. PRAHL, Sioux City; term expires, 1993 GARY C. PRIEBE, Algona; term expires 1991 NANCYLEE A. SIEBENMANN, Cedar Rapids; term expires 1991 CLARK A. YEAGER Ottumwa; term expires 1991 State Ecologist: DEAN ROOSA State Forester: WILLIAM FARRIS State Geologist: DONALD KOCH

Natural Resources Commission

JOHN D. FIELD, Hamburg; term expires 1991 SAM KENNEDY III, Clear Lake; term expires 1991 MARIAN L. KIEFFER, Bellevue; term expires 1995 BARBARA NELSON, Ruthven; term expires 1995 MARION PATTERSON, Cedar Rapids; term expires 1993 DOUGLAS R. SMALLEY, Des Moines; term expires 1993 RICHARD C. YOUNG, Waterloo; term expires 1993

Preserves, State Advisory Board For

c/o Iowa Department of Natural Resources; Wallace State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; 515-281-5145 DOROTHY BARINGER, Woodburn, 1991 PAUL CHRISTIANSEN, Mount Vernon, 1991 RONALD KUNTZ, Des Moines, 1990 JEAN PRIOR, Iowa City, 1989 CLIFTON A ROONEY, Des Moines, 1990 KAY SIMPSON, Des Moines, 1990 LARRY J. WILSON, Des Moines; director, Dept. of Natural Resources, Statutory.