ing performance management systems, coordinating the strategic planning process of state government, and developing and recommending policy initiatives to meet Iowa's needs.

The department is directly attached to the Office of the Governor and controlled by the Governor. It is comprised of the Budget and Finance Division and the Performance Results Division.

The department director is appointed by the Governor, subject to confirmation by the Senate, and serves at the Governor's pleasure. The director serves on various committees as directed by the Governor and the General Assembly, including the School Budget Review Committee, the Technology Governance Board, and the State Appeal Board. The director is the Governor's chief fiscal advisor.

Budgetary duties include preparing the Governor's annual budget recommendations for presentation to the General Assembly, drafting bills supporting the budget, monitoring the use of appropriations granted through the legislative process, and reviewing all final appropriation bills for the Governor's consideration.

The department oversees the development and maintenance of state and local budgets, including the budgets of cities, counties, and schools. It provides staff assistance to the City Finance Committee and the County Finance Committee.

It is responsible for implementing the Accountable Government Act, including planning, performance measurement, and reporting. It manages the Results Iowa website and guidelines for executive branch agencies, along with a continuing analysis of the quality and quantity of state services through the use of periodic performance-oriented "results" meetings with departments and the Governor.

The department coordinates the state's quality and reinvention initiatives, including LEAN, to streamline and improve processes to efficiently meet customer needs.

Finally, the department also prepares economic and revenue projections for the Governor's appointee to the Revenue Estimating Conference.

STATE APPEAL BOARD

§24.26

Department of Management, State Capitol, Des Moines 50319; (515)281-5512

Judy K. Meyer, Executive Secretary

Name	Туре
Michael L. Fitzgerald, Treasurer of State, Chair	Statutory
Richard Oshlo Jr., Director, Department of Management	Statutory
David A. Vaudt, Auditor of State	Statutory

The State Appeal Board is governed by four separate chapters of the Iowa Code. Chapter 73A covers public contracts and bonds and allows citizens to appeal from decisions of municipalities on public improvements. Chapter 24 covers local budget laws whereby citizens can appeal regarding budgets adopted by municipalities. Chapter 669 covers tort claims filed by people against the state of Iowa when a state agency or any of its employees may have caused negligence, a wrongful act, or omission.

The board reviews all claims under Iowa Code chapters 25 and 669 after receiving recommendations from the Special Assistant Attorney General for Claims, and may pay such claims. Claims denied under Iowa Code chapter 25 are referred to the General Assembly.

CITY FINANCE COMMITTEE

§384.13

Department of Management, State Capitol, Des Moines 50319; (515)281-3705

Name	City	Term Ending/Type
Barbara Barrick	Marengo	April 30, 2012
Denise Hoy	Liscomb	April 30, 2010

Cindy Kendall	Marshalltown	April 30, 2010
Gerald Kuhl	North Liberty	April 30, 2012
Susan Vavroch	Cedar Rapids	April 30, 2012
Chris Ward	West Liberty	April 30, 2012
	ditor of State	
William Palmer designee of Gov		-

COUNTY FINANCE COMMITTEE

§333A.2

Department of Management, State Capitol, Des Moines 50319; (515)281-3078

Name	City	Term Ending/Type
Carol Copeland	Burlington	April 30, 2013
Patrick Gill	Sioux City	April 30, 2011
Ben Lacey	Ankeny	April 30, 2011
Suzanne Ruble	Corydon	April 30, 2011
Dale Sunderman	Atlantic	April 30, 2011
Kay Swanson	Oskaloosa	April 30, 2013
Andrew E. Nielsen, designee of Auditor of State, Chair		Statutory
Mark Edelman, operations resea	arch analyst	Statutory

The County Finance Committee was created by the General Assembly and is responsible for providing advice on county financial reporting and budgeting forms, and other areas of county finance.

The committee consists of eight members. Six are appointed by the Governor; five elected county officials who represent counties of varying populations, and a certified public accountant experienced in governmental accounting. The Auditor of State or a designee is a member, and the Legislative Council appoints an operations research analyst.

IOWA EMPOWERMENT BOARD

§28.3

Department of Management, State Capitol, Room 12, Des Moines 50319; (515)281-4321

Shanell Wagler, Facilitator	Serves	at Pleasure of Governor
Name	City	Term Ending/Type
Judy McCoy Davis, Chair	Des Moines	April 30, 2012
John Calhoun	Polk City	April 30, 2011
Christopher Carman	Cedar Rapids	April 30, 2012
John Dotson	Central City	April 30, 2011
Darshini Jayawardena	Mason City	April 30, 2010
Amy Kimball	Winterset	April 30, 2012
Ruth Krueger	Iowa Falls	April 30, 2012
Marguerite (Peg) Macek	Davenport	April 30, 2012
Sara Monroy-Huddleston	Storm Lake	April 30, 2010
Douglas Peters	West Des Moines	April 30, 2012
Patty Ritchie	Westside	April 30, 2012
Cathy Ryba	Treynor	April 30, 2012
Daniel Vogeler	Columbus Junction.	April 30, 2012
John E. White	Davenport	April 30, 2010
Elisabeth Buck, Director, Department of V	Workforce Developmen	Statutory
Preston Daniels, Director, Department of I	Human Rights	Statutory
Judy A. Jeffrey, Director of Education		Statutory
Charles J. Krogmeier, Director, Departmen	nt of Human Services	Statutory
Bret Mills, Director, Department of Econo	omic Development	Statutory
Tom Newton, Director of Public Health	-	Statutory