ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT, DEPARTMENT OF

David J. Lyons, director 200 E. Grand Ave., Des Moines 50309 515/242-4700; FAX 515/242-4809 www.state.ia.us/ided

Economic Development Board

LOIS EICHACKER, chairperson, Fort Madison; term expires 2002; CHARESE E. YANNEY, vice chairperson, Sioux City; term expires 2000; DAVID J. LYONS, secretary, Des Moines; legislative mandate; BOB BOCKEN, Fort Dodge; term expires 2003; JULIE BULKELEY, Red Oak; term expires 2001; FRED HAGEMANN, Waverly; term expires 2001; HARRIS HONSEY, Lake Mills; term expires 2001; PATTY JUDGE, Des Moines; legislative mandate; EUGENE L. LARSON, Swisher; term expires 2002; JOAN PHILLIPS, Manning; term expires 2000; PAMELA SESSIONS, Bloomfield; term expires 2003; WILLIAM B. TRENT, Muscatine; term expires 2001

Ex-Officio Board Members

DR. MARTIN C. JISCHKE, Ames; GENE GARDNER, Des Moines; DR. JOHN HARTUNG, Des Moines; REP. RUSSELL TEIG, Jewel; REP. PHILIP WISE, Keokuk; SEN. E. THURMAN GASKILL, Corwith; SEN. JOHN JUDGE, Albia

The mission of the Iowa Department of Economic Development is to "continually develop the economic well-being and quality of life of Iowans." This mission is addressed through a wide variety of programs available throughout the department. Key to the success of the IDED is its attention to working with companies that invest in the state through infrastructure development and that create high-quality, high-wage positions.

IDED, working with its Board of Directors, designs and implements policies which increase opportunities for Iowa, its citizens and communities. Through an integrated program base, developing a positive quality of life for all Iowans is of utmost importance. Business and community development, workforce training, international trade potential, and tourism and recreation opportunities all add to enhancing Iowa's excellent quality of life.

There are eleven voting members on the IDED Board, as well as seven ex-officio non-voting members. The Governor appoints ten of the voting members and the eleventh is the Secretary of Agriculture. The ex-officio members are two state senators and two state representatives, appointed by legislative leadership; one president or designee of the University of Iowa or the University of Northern Iowa designated by the state board of regents on a rotating basis; one president or designee, of a private college or university appointed by the Iowa Association of Independent Colleges and Universities; and one president or designee of a community college, appointed by the Iowa Association of Community College Presidents. The IDED director is appointed by the Governor, is confirmed by the Senate and sits as Secretary of the IDED Board.

The department has five divisions: Administration, Business Development, Community & Rural Development, International, and Tourism.

Administration Division

This division provides budget, accounting, communications, technology and general administrative support services to the department.

Business Development Division

The Business Development Division is a unified, one-stop approach to attracting industry into the state and helping Iowa businesses get started and expand. It has targeted several sectors to build and diversify Iowa's economy including life sciences, advanced manufacturing and information solutions.

Community and Rural Development Division

The goal of the Community and Rural Development Division is to revitalize Iowa communities and make them aware of opportunities that lie ahead through technical assistance, community outreach and other building efforts. The division also administers a variety of community planning, housing, and development programs that offer financial assistance to help communities meet their goals.