ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT, DEPARTMENT OF

David J. Lyons, director; 200 E. Grand Ave., Des Moines 50309; 515/242-4700; FAX 515/242-4809

Economic Development Board

WILLIAM B. TRENT JR., chair, Muscatine; term expires 2001 LOIS EICHACKER, vice chair, Ft. Madison; term expires 1998 DAVID J. LYONS, secretary, Des Moines; legislative mandate JULIE BULKELEY, Red Oak; term expires 2001 HON. DALE COCHRAN, Des Moines; legislative mandate FRED HAGEMANN, Waverly; term expires 2001 HARRIS HONSEY, Lake Mills; term expires 2001 ANN JORGENSEN, Garrison; term expires 1999 EUGENE L. LARSON, Swisher; term expires 1998 ELDON LEONARD, Ankeny; term expires 1999 JOAN PHILLIPS, Manning; term expires 2000 CHARESE E. YANNEY, Sioux City; term expires 2000

Ex-Officio Board Members

SENATOR ALLEN BORLAUG, Provitin
Dr. MARY SUE COLEMAN, Iowa City
GENE GARDNER, West Burlington
SENATOR STEVE HANSEN, Sioux City
DR. JOHN HARTUNG, Des Moines
REPRESENTATIVE DEO A. KOENIGS, St. Ansgar
REPRESENTATIVE CHUCK LARSON, Cedar Rapids

The Department of Economic Development, created July 1, 1986, combines the previous duties of the Iowa Development Commission and the economic development functions of the Office for Planning and Programming and the Iowa Housing Finance Authority into a single department to strengthen and coordinate Iowa's efforts in economic development.

The mission of the department is to enhance the economic development of Iowa and provide for job creation and increased property and opportunities for citizens. It provides direct financial and technical assistance and training and coordinates other economic development programs from the local, community, and federal levels.

The Iowa Economic Development Board adopts policy and rules and prepares longrange economic development plans. There are eleven voting members and seven exofficio nonvoting members. Ten of the voting members are appointed by the governor and the eleventh is the secretary of agriculture. The ex-officio nonvoting members are two state senators and two state representatives appointed by legislative leadership; one president, or the president's designee of the University of Iowa or the University of Northern Iowa designated by the state board of regents on a rotating basis; and one president, or the president's designee, of a private college or university appointed by the Iowa Association of Independent Colleges and Universities; and one president, or the presidents designee, of a community college, appointed by the Iowa Association of Community College Presidents. The director is appointed by the governor and must be confirmed by the Senate.

The Department has five divisions: Administrative Services, Business Development, Community and Rural Development, International and Tourism.

Administrative Services

This division is the backbone of the department, providing budget, accounting, communications and general administrative support services. In addition, the staff administers state job training programs, and the Iowa Film Office.

Business and Marketing Development

The Business Development Division is a unified, one-step approach to attracting industry into the state and helping Iowa businesses get started and expand. It has targeted several industries to build and diversify Iowa's economy including Biotechnology, Pharmaceutical, Insurance, Food Processing and Telecommunications.

Community and Rural Development

The goal of the Community and Rural Development Division is to revitalize Iowa communities and make them aware of opportunities that lie ahead through technical assistance and counseling programs. The division also administers the Community