Grant Programs

Certified Local Governments Grant Program

Kerry McGrath, 600 E. Locust Street, Des Moines 50319; 515/281-6826

Local governments that have Certified Local Government (CLG) status may apply for funds to complete projects to identify, evaluate and nominate historical buildings, sites or structures, comprehensive historic preservation planning and public education projects. The annual grant deadline is in December.

Historical Resource Development Program

Lavon Wickett, 600 E. Locust Street, Des Moines 50319; 515/242-6194

Historical Resource Development Program (HRDP) grants are designed to help individuals, businesses, nonprofit organizations, Indian tribes, state and local government agencies and CLGs in identifying, preserving and interpreting their historical resources. The annual grant deadline is June 1.

For addition information write to: State Historical Society of Iowa, Capitol Complex, 600 East Locust Street, Des Moines, Iowa 50319, or call 515/281-6412.

ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT, DEPARTMENT OF

David J. Lyons, director; 200 E. Grand Ave., Des Moines 50309; 515/242-4700; FAX 515/242-4809

Economic Development Board

WILLIAM B. TRENT JR., chair, Muscatine; term expires 1997 LOIS EICHACKER, vice chair, Ft. Madison; term expires 1998 DAVID J. LYONS, secretary, Des Moines; legislative mandate JULIE BULKELEY, Red Oak; term expires 1997 HON. DALE COCHRAN, Des Moines; legislative mandate FRED HAGEMANN, Waverly; term expires 1997 HARRIS HONSEY, Lake Mills; term expires 1997 ANN JORGENSEN, Garrison; term expires 1998 EUGENE L. LARSON, Swisher; term expires 1998 ELDON LEONARD, Ankeny; term expires 1998 JOAN PHILLIPS, Manning; term expires 1997 CHARESE E. YANNEY, Sioux City; term expires 1996

Ex-Officio Board Members

SENATOR ALLEN BORLAUG, Provitin SENATOR LEONARD BOSWELL, Davis City DR. JOHN HARTUNG, Des Moines REPRESENTATIVE DEO A. KOENIGS, Osage REPRESENTATIVE CHUCK LARSON, Cedar Rapids DR. NORM NIELSEN, Cedar Rapids VACANT

The Department of Economic Development, created July 1, 1986, combines the previous duties of the Iowa Development Commission and the economic development functions of the Office for Planning and Programming and the Iowa Housing Finance Authority into a single department to strengthen and coordinate Iowa's efforts in economic development.

The mission of this new department is to enhance the economic development of Iowa and provide for job creation and increased property and opportunities for citizens. It provides direct financial and technical assistance and training and coordinates other economic development programs from the local, community, and federal levels.

The Iowa Economic Development Board adopts policy and rules and prepares long-range economic development plans. There are eleven voting members and seven ex-officio nonvoting members. Ten of the voting members are appointed by the governor and the eleventh is the secretary of agriculture. The ex-officio nonvoting members are two state senators and two state representatives appointed by legislative leadership; one president, or the president's designee of the University of Iowa, or the University of Northern Iowa designated by the state board of regents on a rotating basis; and one president, or the president's designee, of a private college or university appointed by the Iowa Association of Independent Colleges and Universities; and one superintendent, or the superintendent's designee, of a merged area school, appointed by the Iowa Association of Community College Presidents. The director is appointed by the governor and must be confirmed by the Senate.

The Department has six divisions: Administrative Services, Business Development, Community and Rural Development, International, Tourism, and Workforce Development.