population, housing, agriculture, business, industry and government. The center, in cooperation with the U.S. Bureau of the Census, receives Iowa's first copy of new census data releases.

Patent Depository Library

The 72nd General Assembly appropriated funds for the establishment of a federal Patent Depository Library located in the State Library. In August 1990, the Patent Library was opened on a self-service basis to provide the general public access to the collection, which consists of indexes and patents from 1972 to the present.

Library Development

The State Library is responsible for the development of library services to all citizens of Iowa and works closely with the 525 public libraries and seven regional libraries. State Library programs facilitate resource sharing and cooperation among libraries statewide. One such program is the administration of federally-funded grants to libraries under the Library Services and Construction Act (LSCA). The State Library annually receives \$1.5 million in federal funds through LSCA, \$200,000 of which is awarded to library building projects. The State Library also develops materials for an annual statewide summer reading program, and specialized consulting services in such areas as automation, literacy, and library service to residents of the state's institutions. In addition, more than 2,000 Iowa librarians have been certified under the State Library's voluntary certification program, and 130 libraries in the state have been accredited under a voluntary accreditation program.

Network Coordination

The State Library coordinates statewide sharing of Iowa's information resources using modern library technology and innovative programming. The State Library's Iowa Locator program includes 229 work stations across the state, each containing a catalog on compact discs listing the locations of more than 5.5 million books in more than 500 Iowa libraries. The Iowa Computer Assisted Network (ICAN) electronically transmits requests between libraries. The Iowa Library FAX Network electronically expedites the delivery of documents and information to and from its 172 participants. A majority of the FAX machines were purchased with State Library grants awarded through the federal Library Services and Construction Act.

Net Lender Program

There are currently 355 libraries in Iowa participating in the State Library's Net Lender program. Participating libraries agree to provide free access to interlibrary loan and are reimbursed for every item loaned which exceeds the number of items borrowed.

Open Access

Begun in 1989 with a special appropriation from the Iowa Legislature, the State Library's Open Access program has proven highly successful. There are currently 521 libraries in the state participating in the program which enables library users to borrow materials from other libraries. Because of this program, Iowans have more choices in library service and direct access to more materials and information resources. The State Library reimburses participating libraries \$.80 for each item loaned through Open Access.

State Documents Depository

The State Library is a depository of all state government publications. In addition, the State Library is responsible for distributing state government materials to 47 other depositories in Iowa.

Audio/Visual Collection

The State Library loans approximately 30,000 films and videos annually to Iowa libraries. A wide range of instructional, educational, and entertainment programming is available in this collection.

ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT, DEPARTMENT OF

Allan Thoms, director; 200 E. Grand Ave., Des Moines 50319; 515/281-3251

Economic Development Board

F. FORBES OLBERG, chair, Cedar Rapids; term expires 1994 TONI LAZAR, vice-chair, West Des Moines; term expires 1991 ALLAN T. THOMS, secretary, West Des Moines DALE M. COCHRAN, secretary of agriculture JULIE BULKELEY, Red Oak; term expires 1993 WILLIAM T. DIBLE, Sioux City; term expires 1992 LOIS EICHACKER, Ft. Madison; term expires 1994

HARRIS D. HONSEY, Lake Mills, term expires 1993 ANN JORGENSEN, Garrison; term expires 1991 JOAN PHILLIPS, Manning; term expires 1992 ROBERT A. VAN VOOREN, Pleasant Valley, term expires 1993 DICK WITHAM, Waterloo; term expires 1993

Ex-Officio Board Members

SEN. BILL HUTCHINS, Audubon SEN. JOHN N. NYSTROM, Boone REP. WAYNE BENNETT, Ida Grove REP. JOHN GRONINGA, Mason City

JOHN HARTUNG, Iowa Association of Independent Colleges and Universities

DR. JOHN BLONG, Eastern Iowa Community College District DR. CONSTANTINE W. CURRIS, University of Northern Iowa

The Department of Economic Development, created July 1, 1986, combines the previous duties of the Iowa Development Commission and the economic development functions of the Office for Planning and Programming and the Iowa Housing Finance Authority into a single department to strengthen and coordinate Iowa's efforts in economic development.

The mission of this new department is to enhance the economic development of Iowa and provide for job creation and increased prosperity and opportunities for citizens. It provides direct financial and technical assistance and training and coordinates other economic development programs from the local, community, and

federal levels.

The Iowa Economic Development Board adopts policy and rules and prepares long-range economic development plans. There are eleven voting members and seven exofficio nonvoting members. Ten of the voting members are appointed by the governor and the eleventh is the secretary of agriculture. The ex-officio nonvoting members are two state senators and two state representatives appointed by legislative leadership; one president, or the president's designee, of the University of Iowa, Iowa State University, or the University of Northern Iowa designated by the state board of regents on a rotating basis; and one president, or the president's designee, of a private college or university appointed by the Iowa Association of Independent Colleges and Universities; and one superintendednt, or the superintendent's designee, of a merged area school, appointed by the Iowa Association of Community College Presidents. The director is appointed by the governor and must be confirmed by the Senate.

The Department has six divisions: Administrative Services, Business Development, Community and Rural Development, International, Tourism, and Workforce

Development.

Administrative Services

This division is the backbone of the department, providing budget, accounting, communications and general administrative support services. In addition, the staff researches future trends in the Iowa economy and identifies opportunities for progress.

Business Development

The Business Development Division is a unified, one-step approach to attracting industry into the state and helping Iowa businesses get started and expand. It has targeted several industries to build and diversify Iowa's economy including, Biotechnology, Pharmaceuticals, Insurance, Food Processing and Telecommunications.

Community and Rural Development

The goal of the Community and Rural Development Division is to revitalize Iowa communities and make them aware of opportunities that lie ahead through technical assistance and counseling programs. The division also administers the Community Development Block Grant program (CDBG) and community housing awards.

International

The responsibilities of the International Division have expanded as Iowa strives to take a greater role in the global marketplace. Exports are a multi-million dollar business in Iowa and the International Division draws upon experience from the Sister State program, the Iowa Peace Institute, and Internet, which assists businesses in conducting market research in foreign countries. The division also has offices in Hong Kong, Tokyo, and Frankfurt.