the state's institutions. More than 1,000 Iowa librarians have been certified under the State Library's voluntary certification program, and nearly 100 of the more than 500 public libraries in the state have been accredited under a voluntary accreditation program.

State Library publications keeping the Iowa library community informed, include Footnotes; the Iowa Library Quarterly; and Iowa Library Directory and Public Library Statistics, both published annually.

Iowa citizens are fortunate to have access to nearly 4.5 million items contained in over 400 Iowa public, academic, school, and special libraries, including the University of Iowa, Iowa State University, and the University of Northern Iowa, and which are listed on a single compact disc, the Iowa Locator, which was developed by the State Library. These items may be borrowed from local public libraries through an interlibrary loan system, also developed by the State Library and operated in cooperation with the Iowa Regional Library System and participating members. This system, the Iowa Computer Assisted Network (ICAN), takes advantage of recent innovations in microcomputer and compact disc technologies, and serves the state with one of the most effective yet low cost resource sharing networks in the nation.

ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT, DEPARTMENT OF

Richard Timmerman, acting director; 200 E. Grand Ave., Des Moines 50319; 515-281-3251 Economic Development Board

F. FORBES OLBERG, chair, Cedar Rapids; term expires 1990 TONI LAZAR, vice-chair, West Des Moines; term expires 1991 ALLAN T. THOMS, secretary, West Des Moines DALE M. COCHRAN, secretary of agriculture JULIE BULKELEY, Red Oak; term expires 1993 LOIS EICHACKER, Ft. Madison; term expires 1990 HARRIS D. HONSEY, Lake Mills, term expires 1993 ANN JORGENSEN, Garrison; term expires 1991 CHARLES LONG, Sergeant Bluff; term expires 1992 JOANNE PETTIT, Council Bluffs; term expires 1992 HARRY SLIFE, Cedar Falls, term expires 1989 ROBERT A. VAN VOOREN, Pleasant Valley, term expires 1993 Ex-Officio Board Members SEN. C.W. (BILL) HUTCHINS, Audubon

SEN. JOHN N. NYSTROM, Boone

REP. WAYNE BENNETT, Galva

REP. JOHN GRONINGA. Mason City

JOHN HARTUNG, Iowa Association of Independent Colleges and Universities

DR. NORM NIELSON, Kirkwood Community College

DR. HUNTER RAWLINGS, III, University of Iowa

The Department of Economic Development, created July 1, 1986, combines the previous duties of the Iowa Development Commission and the economic development functions of the Office for Planning and Programming and the Iowa Housing Finance Authority into a single department to strengthen and coordinate Iowa's efforts in economic development.

The mission of this new department is to enhance the economic development of lowa and provide for job creation and increased prosperity and opportunities for citizens. It provides direct financial and technical assistance and training and coordinates other economic development programs from the local, community, and federal levels.

The Iowa Economic Development Board adopts policy and rules and prepares longrange economic development plans. There are eleven voting members and seven ex-officio nonvoting members. Ten of the voting members are appointed by the governor and the eleventh is the secretary of agriculture. The ex-officio nonvoting members are two state senators and two state representatives appointed by legislative leadership; one president, or the president's designee, of the University of Iowa, Iowa State University, or the University of Northern Iowa designated by the state board of regents on a rotating basis; and one president, or the president's designee, of a private college or university appointed by the Iowa Association of Independent Colleges and Universities; and one superintendednt, or the superintendent's designee, of a merged area school, appointed by the Iowa Association of Community College Presidents. The director is appointed by the governor and must be confirmed by the Senate.