ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT, DEPARTMENT OF

Allan T. Thoms, director: 200 East Grand Ave., Des Moines 50319: 515-281-3251

Economic Development Board

F. FORBES OLBERG, chairman, Cedar Rapids; term expires 1990 RONALD SCHECHTMAN, vice chairman, Carroll; term expires 1988

CHARLES A. LONG, Sergeant Bluff; term expires 1988 KAREN P. MERRICK, Guttenberg; term expires 1987 J. DOUGLAS MILLER, Bettendorf; term expires 1989

JACK C. PESTER, Des Moines; term expires 1987

DARREL RENSINK, Sioux Center; term expires 1989

BILL RILEY, Des Moines; term expires 1988 HARRY SLIFE, Cdedar Falls, term expires 1989

ROBERT L. THOMSON, Charles City; term expires 1988

DALE M. COCHRAN. Secretary of Agriculture

Ex-Officio Board Members:

SENATOR C.W. (BILL) HUTCHINS, Audubon

SENATOR JACK NYSTROM, Boone

REPRESENTATIVE WAYNE BENNETT, Galva

REPRESENTATIVE JOHN GRONINGA, Mason City

DR. JAMES O. FREEDMAN, University of Iowa

DR. GORDON EATON, Iowa State University

DR. CONSTANTINE CURRIS, University of Northern Iowa

The Department of Economic Development, created July 1, 1986, combines the previous duties of the Iowa Development Commission and the economic development functions of the Office for Planning and Programming and the Iowa Housing Finance Authority into a single department to strengthen and coordinate Iowa's efforts in economic development.

The mission of this new department is to enhance the economic development of Iowa and provide for job creation and increased prosperity and opportunities for citizens. It provides direct financial and technical assistance and training and coordinates other economic development programs from the local, community and

federal levels.

An Economic Development Board of nine voting members and seven ex-officio or non-voting members adopts policy and rules and prepares long-range economic development plans. Eight of the voting members are appointed by the governor and the ninth is the Secretary of Agriculture. Ex-officio members are two state senators and two state representatives appointed by the legislative leadership and the Presidents of the three state universities: Iowa State University, the University of Iowa, and the University of Northern Iowa. The director is appointed by the governor and must be confirmed by the Senate.

The Department has five divisions: Administration, Planning and Policy; Job Training; Financial Assistance; Community Progress; and Marketing and Business

Development.

Administration, Planning and Policy Division

The Administration, Planning and Policy Division provides budget, accounting, communications and general administrative support services and analyzes the economy and collects statistics to identify potentials and plan for progress.

Financial Assistance Division

The Division of Financial Assistance helps communities, small business and agriculture with grants, loans, or bonds for economic development projects and assists housing projects for low and moderate income families and the handicapped.

Job Training Division

Job Training Division develops strategies to promote economic growth and new job opportunities and administers the Iowa Industrial New Jobs Training Program and the federal Job Training Partnership Act.