CORRECTIONS, DEPARTMENT OF

Sally Chandler Halford, director; Capitol Annex, 523 E. 12th, Des Moines 50319; 515/281-4811

JOHNNY BROWN, Cedar Rapids; term expires 1995 MILDRED ELLIOTT, Mt. Ayr; term expires 1993 JONI KEITH, Ottumwa; term expires 1993 JEAN KLINGAMAN, Waterloo; term expires 1995 HAROLD MC CORMICK, Dubuque; term expires 1995 JIM SCHWIESOW, Orange City; term expires 1995 RICHARD VANDER MEY, Nevada; term expires 1995

The Iowa Board of Corrections is a seven-member board appointed by the governor of the state of Iowa with members serving four year terms. This board is a policy setting board and is required to meet at least monthly.

The Iowa Department of Corrections (DOC) activities fall into four areas: correctional institutions, community based correctional services, corrections administration and

prison industries.

At the beginning of fiscal 1993, the DOC was supervising 22,183 offenders: 4,490 in prison, 569 in residential facilities, 163 in OWI programs, 2,117 on parole and 14,844 under community supervision. Prison design capacity is 3,265. Capacity increased to 3,595 during the 1993 fiscal year.

The department employs 1,734 staff members with an additional 868 employed by the eight judicial district departments of correctional services. The corrections budget

for fiscal 1993 was \$134,273,972.

Iowa Prison Industries (IPI) employs inmates in a work setting similar to factories in the free society and produces approximately 3,000 products for sale to government and nonprofit agencies. In terms of inmate contact hours, IPI is the largest vocational/technical training program in DOC providing nearly 500,000 annual hours of training, work and security supervision of inmates. IPI receives no appropriation. Operations are sustained on \$7.84 million in fiscal 1992 sales.

The Iowa Corrections Academy is located at Mount Pleasant and is responsible for providing pre-service and in-service training for correctional officers and other direct

service staff with the Department of Corrections.

Community Based Corrections (CBC) services provide programs for clients in an effort to divert individuals from the institutions. Services and supervision for those leaving the institutions and guidance in their transition back to the free society are also provided. Pre-institution services include pre-trial, pre-sentence investigations, probation supervision and residential supervision. The vast majority of individuals serviced by corrections in the state of Iowa are clients in this category. Post-institution services include parole and work release supervision. In recent years, both pre- and post-institutional supervision has been improved through the development of programs targeted toward specific offender groups. These programs include: operating while intoxicated (OWI) programs, intensive supervision, electronic monitoring, sex offender programs, treatment alternatives to street crimes (TASC), domestic abuse programs, community service, education, and employment. In addition, a new program specifically designed to intervene in and alter the anti-social behavior patterns of non-violent probation, parole, and work release violators was initiated in early 1993.

CBC programs are designed as local programs supervised by a judicial district department of corrections board that hires and provides direct supervision to the district director. The programs are state funded with the state department responsible for general oversight and coordination of the programs offered by the eight judicial districts. In addition, CBC administers the interstate compact program and provides supervision

and direction for the state Jail Inspection Unit.

The eight districts maintain residential facilities in the following communities: Ames, Burlington, Cedar Rapids, Coralville, Council Bluffs, Davenport, Des Moines, Dubuque, Fort Dodge, Marshalltown, Mason City, Ottumwa, Sheldon, Sioux City, Waterloo, and

West Union.

Field Service offices are disbursed throughout the state to ensure close contacts with corrections clients. Field services are based in the following cities: Waterloo, Decorah, Oelwein, Independence, Dubuque, Manchester, Ames, Fort Dodge, Marshalltown, Mason City, Sac City, Sioux City, Spencer, Council Bluffs, Des Moines, Adel, Chariton, Creston, Guthrie Center, Indianola, Newton, Pleasantville, Vinton, Marengo, Toledo, Coralville, Cedar Rapids, Davenport, Tipton, Clinton, Maquoketa, Muscatine, Burlington, Fairfield, Fort Madison, Mount Pleasant, Keokuk, Ottumwa, Centerville, and Oskaloosa.

The department maintains eight prison institutions at various locations around the

state. A description of those facilities and their mission follows.