Public Information

Twila Morris, bureau chief

This bureau maintains contact with media representatives, with the Iowa legislature and with customers who have questions or disputes with their local utility company. The staff of this bureau work closely with the staff of the agency to assure accurate and fair dissemination of agency information.

Conservation, Auditing and Research Bureau

Stephen Brown, bureau chief

This division conducts analyses of various rate allocations. Experimental projects, conducted with the cooperation of the Iowa utility companies, measure the effect of various rate design alternatives on customer usage. Such analyses of price changes and the effects on customer usage with an eye toward policy development and rate design research are crucial to the long-range planning of the Utilities Board.

The I-SAVE and other energy conservation programs are also developed and implemented by staff of this bureau.

The bureau is responsible for reviewing utility operations and recommending policies that meet customer utility needs at the lowest cost to ratepayers. Staff specialists in telephone, electric, and gas/water utilize a variety of investigations to achieve this.

Bureau of Rates and Safety Evaluation

William Smith, bureau chief

Expert economists, accountants, and engineers from this bureau are sponsored by the Office of Consumer Advocate before the Board in contested cases when a rateregulated gas, electric, telephone or water company proposes a change in their rates. The staff reviews the tariffs proposed by the utility companies for rates and service compliance with the Commission rules, orders and state law. Evaluation of gas and electric safety and service programs are conducted. Those seeking approval to build and operate gas pipelines and electric transmission lines also work with the staff of this bureau.

CORRECTIONS, DEPARTMENT OF

Hal Farrier, director; Jewett Building, Des Moines 50809; 515-281-4811

GARY BAUGHER, Ankeny; term expires 1987

MILDRED ELLIOTT, Mt. Ayr; term expires 1989

BILLIE LLOYD, Davenport; term expires 1989

MICHAEL MAHAFFEY, Montezuma;term expires 1990

HAROLD MC CORMICK, Manchester: term expires 1987

JACK PASCHALL, Anamosa; term expires 1990

DONALD VOLD, Forest City; term expires 1987

The Iowa Board of Corrections is a seven-member board appointed by the Governor of the State of Iowa with members serving six-year terms. This Board is a policy setting Board and is required to meet at least monthly.

The Iowa Department of Corrections activities fall into four areas: correctional institutions, community based correctional services, corrections administration and prison industries.

The institutions within the Department offer educational, vocational, work, chemical dependency, medical, psychiatric, mental retardation and other supportive programs and counseling services.

Iowa Prison Industries employs inmates in a work setting similar to factories in the free society and produces approximately 3,000 products for sale to government and non-profit agencies.

The Iowa Corrections Academy is located at Mt. Pleasant and is responsible for providing pre-service and in-service training for correctional officers and other direct service staff within the Department of Corrections.

Community Based Corrections services provide programs for clients in an effort to divert individuals from the institutions. Services and supervision for those leaving the institutions and guidance in their transition back to the free society are also provided. The pre-institution services include pre-trial release, pre-sentence