## Soll Conservation

James B. Gulliford, administrator; Wallace State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; 515/281-5851

The division of Soil Conservation is responsible for state leadership in the areas of soil, water, and mineral resource management. The division mission includes setting the state's priorities, formulating and implementing programs, and establishing policies for preserving and protecting these natural resources in Iowa. The division provides assistance and support to Iowa's 100 soil and water conservation districts. It carries out programs for licensing mineral extraction, coal mining regulation and mined land reclamation.

Programs to reduce or eliminate groundwater contamination associated with the use of agricultural practices or with naturally occurring environmental threats are initiated by the Soil Conservation Division to ensure the quality of Iowa soil and water for everyone.

The division assists in the administration of an Integrated Farm Management Demonstration Project in every county with other state and federal agencies. It is a program designed to help farmers reduce chemical inputs while maintaining profitability. The division also conducts an Agricultural Drainage Well Research and Demonstration Project. Policies for the division are established by the State Soil Conservation Committee.

#### State Soll Conservation Committee members

KENNETH W. KASSEL, chair, Ayrshire OLIVER J. EMERSON, vice-chair, Waterville LINDA APPELGATE, Des Moines JACK MILLER, Runnells JOHN MILLER, Cedar Falls SALLY PUTTMANN, Kingsley THOMAS SCOTT, Iowa City CLIFFORD STILLE, Macedonia BERTHA VER STEEGH, New Sharon

### Veterinary Medicine, Iowa Board of

Walter Felker, D.V.M., secretary; Wallace State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; 515/281-5305

The Iowa Board of Veterinary Medicine was created in 1900 when the first "Veterinary Practice Act" became effective. The five-member board has three members who are licensed veterinarians and two represent the public. The state veterinarian serves as the board's secretary and handles administrative matters.

The board offers examinations in April and December to qualified applicants, to determine their personal and professional qualifications to practice in Iowa. The board also determines the standards for certification of veterinary assistants, and may conduct investigations, hold hearings, and take disciplinary action when indicated in matters involving the practice of veterinary medicine.

#### Board members

REX W. WILHELM, D.V.M., chair, Stuart MICHAEL K. EBERLE, D.V.M., Des Moines DEAN C. FREY, D.V.M., Cedar Rapids JANE McCALL, Manchester JANICE STILLMAN, Emmetsburg

# **BLIND, DEPARTMENT FOR THE**

R. Creig Slayton, director; main office, orientation center and library is located at 524 Fourth St., Des Moines 50309; 515/281-1333; District offices: 407 Higley Building, Cedar Rapids 52401; Suite 400, First National Bank Building, Waterloo 50703; 427 Frances Building, Sioux City 51101

MARGARET P. KOLCK, Dubuque; term expires 1993 ROBERT J. MARTIN, Davenport; term expires 1991 JOHN WELLMAN, Des Moines; term expires 1992

The Department for the Blind, created in 1925, promotes opportunity for the blind in Iowa by offering the necessary training and advocacy to become independent competitive citizens. There are several divisions of the department through which such help is given.