Soil Conservation

Jim Gulliford, administrator; Wallace State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; 515-281-5851

The Department of Soil Conservation became a division of the Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship by action of the 71st General Assembly. The division of Soil Conservation is responsible for state leadership in the areas of soil, water, and mineral resource management. The division mission includes setting the state's priorities, formulating and implementing programs, and establishing policies for preserving and protecting these natural resources in Iowa. The division provides assistance and support to Iowa's 100 soil and water conservation districts. It carries out programs for licensing mineral extraction, coal mining regulation and mined land reclamation.

Mandated programs to reduce or eliminate groundwater contamination associated with the use of agricultural practices or with naturally occurring environmental threats are initiated by the Soil Conservation Division to ensure the quality of Iowa soil and water for everyone.

The division assists in the administration of an Integrated Farm Management Demonstration Project in every county with other state and federal agencies. It is a program designed to help farmers reduce chemical inputs while maintaining a stable crop production. The division also conducts an Agricultural Drainage Well Research and Demonstration Project. Policies for the division are established by the State Soil Conservation Committee.

State Soll Conservation Committee members

KENNETH W. KASSEL, chair, Ayrshire OLIVER J. EMERSON, vice-chair, Waterville LINDA APPELGATE, Des Moines JACK MILLER, Runnells JOHN MILLER, Cedar Falls SALLY PUTTMANN, Kingsley THOMAS SCOTT, Iowa City CLIFFORD STILLE, Macedonia VIRGINIA STRIEGEL, What Cheer

Veterinary Medicine, Iowa Board of

Walter Felker, D.V.M., secretary; Wallace State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; 515-281-5305

The Iowa Board of Veterinary Medicine was created in 1900 when the first "Veterinary Practice Act" became effective. The five-member board has three members who are licensed veterinarians and two represent the public. The state veterinarian serves as the board's secretary and handles administrative matters.

The board offers examinations in May and December to qualified applicants, to determine their personal and professional qualifications to practice in Iowa. The board also determines the standards for certification of veterinary assistants, and may conduct investigations, hold hearings, and take disciplinary action when indicated in matters involving the practice of veterinary medicine.

Board members

REX W. WILHELM, D.V.M., chair, Stuart MICHAEL K. EBERLE, D.V.M., Des Moines DEAN C. FREY, D.V.M., Cedar Rapids JANICE K. STILLMAN, Emmetsburg VACANCY

CAMPAIGN FINANCE DISCLOSURE COMMISSION

Kay Williams, executive director; 507 10th St., Des Moines 50309; 515-281-4411 ELWIN D. FARWELL, chair, Decorah; term expires 1991 GERALDINE EITTER, Dubuque; term expires 1993 BEVERLY JO JACKSON, Marshalltown; term expires 1995 JEAN ROBB, Moravia; term expires 1991 ROBERT R. RUSH, Cedar Rapids, term expires 1995

The 65th General Assembly, 1973 session, created the Campaign Finance Disclosure Commission to review, monitor, and make available for public inspection financial