## Grain Warehouse

Wally Dick, director; Wallace Building, Des Moines 50319; 515-281-5324

This former division of the Commerce Commission was transferred to the Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship by the 71st General Assembly. The division issues licenses for more than 1200 grain dealers and more than 600 grain warehouses. Division staff periodically inspects the operations and facilities of licencees to assure compliance with the law's financial requirements.

## Iowa State Fair Board

Marion Lucas, secretary/manager; Iowa State Fairgrounds, East 30th and Grand Avenue, Des Moines 50319; 515-262-3111

The Fair Board was transferred to the Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship by the 71st General Assembly. The Secretary of Agriculture is a nonvoting member of the board. He appoints the board secretary, who serves at his pleasure, from a list of three candidates submitted by the board's voting members. For more information on the State Fair, see p. 344.

#### Soil Conservation

Jim Gulliford, administrator; Wallace Building, Des Moines 50319; 515-281-6146

The Department of Soil Conservation became a division of the Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship by action of the 71st General Assembly. The division of Soil Conservation is responsible for state leadership in the areas of soil, water, and mineral resource management. The division mission includes setting the state's priorities, formulating and implementing programs, and establishing policies for preserving and protecting these natural resources in Iowa. The division provides assistance and support to Iowa's 100 soil conservation districts for soil resource management and to its six water resource districts for water resource management. It carries out programs for licensing mineral extraction, coal mining regulation and mined land reclamation. Policies for the division are established by the State Soil Conservation Committee.

State Soil Conservation Committee: Elvie Dreeszen, Cushing, chair; Virginia Striegel, What Cheer, vice chair; Oliver J. Emerson, Waterville; Kenneth W. Kassel, Ayrshire; Jane LaGrange, Vinton; Jack Miller, Runnells; John Miller, Cedar Falls; Thomas Scott, Iowa City; Clifford Stille, Macedonia.

# Veterinary Medicine, Iowa Board of

Merle H. Lang, D.V.M., secretary; Wallace Building, Des Moines 50319; 515-281-5305
Board members: Sally B. Prickett, D.V.M., chair, Cumming; Dean C. Frey, D.V.M.,
Cedar Rapids; Elmer (Bo) Grismore, Corydon; Judith Huntrods, St. Charles; Rex
W. Wilhelm, D.V.M., Stuart.

The Iowa Board of Veterninary Medicine was created in 1900 when the first "Veterinary Practice Act" became effective. The five-member board is appointed by the governor; three members are licensed veterinarians and two represent the public. The state veterinarian serves as the board's secretary and handles administrative matters.

The board offers examinations in May and December to qualified applicants, to determine their personal and professional qualifications to practice in Iowa. The board also determines the standards for certification of veterinary assistants, and may conduct investigations, hold hearings and take disciplinary action when indicated in matters involving the practice of veterinary medicine. This authority is found in Chapter 169, Code of Iowa.

## Agricultural Marketing Division

Ed Lowe, director; Wallace Building, Des Moines 50319; 515-281-5993

The Agricultural Marketing Division works to promote and assist in the sales of Iowa agricultural products and commodities.