the General Assembly in 1965. In 1986, the responsibilities of the commission were included in the duties of the Department of Elder Affairs, which acts as the State Unit on Aging. The Department was established under the "Elder Iowans Act" (Iowa Code chapter 231), which sets forth the state's commitment to its older lowans and their dignity, independence, and rights. The Department is an advocate for lowans age 60 and older and is responsible for developing a comprehensive and coordinated system of services and activities for older people through 13 designated Area Agencies on Aging across the state. The department's featured programs are: elder rights and legal assistance; substitute decision making; elder abuse prevention; nutrition and wellness; mature workers; and case management for the frail elderly (www.iowa.gov/elderaffairs). Within the Department of Elder Affairs is the Office of the State Long-Term Care Ombudsman, which advocates for the rights of residents living in health facilities. The Iowa Governor's Conference on Aging is administered by the department and serves as the state's premier annual event on aging issues. An 11-member commission is the policymaking body with seven members appointed by the Governor, two by the House, and two by the Senate for four-year terms. The commission designates the Area Agencies on Aging and approves and monitors the area plans for the area agencies. The Governor appoints an executive director subject to confirmation by the Senate.

The department advocates for older lowans by reviewing and commenting upon all state plans, budgets, laws, rules, regulations, and policies which affect older lowans and by providing technical assistance to any agency, organization, association, or individual representing the needs of older lowans.

SENIOR LIVING COORDINATING UNIT

§231.58

Department of Elder Affairs, 510 East Twelfth Street, Suite 2, Des Moines 50319; (515)725-3302

| | | Term Ending Date/ |
|---|----------------|---------------------|
| Name | City | Type of Appointment |
| Kumsan Song | Des Moines | June 30, 2008 |
| Robert Welsh | lowa City | June 30, 2008 |
| John McCalley, Director, Department of Elder Affairs, Chair | | Statutory |
| Kevin Concannon, Director, Department of Human Services | | |
| Dean A. Lerner, Director, Department of Inspections and Appeals | | |
| Tom Newton, Director of Public Health | | |
| Ex officio, nonvoting members from the General Assembly: | | |
| | Senate | - |
| Nancy Bocttger | Harlan | Statutory |
| Amanda Ragan | Mason City | Statutory |
| c | House | |
| David Heaton | Mount Pleasant | Statutory |
| | Cedar Falls | |

OFFICE OF ENERGY INDEPENDENCE

2007 Iowa Acts, House File 918 Lucas State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; (515)281-0187

Roya Stanley, Director Serves at Pleasure of Governor

The Office of Energy Independence was created in June 2007 to coordinate state activities concerning energy independence.

The director is appointed by the Governor, subject to Senate confirmation, and serves at the Governor's pleasure. The director is responsible for the administration of the office and the fund. The director and the office are responsible for coordinating state and federal energy policy and