House				
Dawn Pettengill	Mount Auburn	April 30, 2008		
Linda Upmeyer	Garner	April 30, 2008		

The Older Americans Act of 1965 established the State Unit on Aging and the Area Agencies on Aging. The Department of Elder Affairs was first created as the Commission on the Aging by the General Assembly in 1965. In 1986, the responsibilities of the commission were included in the duties of the Department of Elder Affairs, which acts as the State Unit on Aging. The department was established under the "Elder Iowans Act" (Iowa Code chapter 231), which sets forth the state's commitment to its elders and their dignity, independence, and rights. The department is an advocate for elder Iowans age 60 and older and is responsible for developing a comprehensive and coordinated system of services and activities for older people through 13 designated Area Agencies on Aging across the state. An 11-member commission is the policymaking body with seven members appointed by the Governor, two by the House, and two by the Senate for four-year terms. The commission designates the Area Agencies on Aging and approves and monitors the area plans for the area agencies. The Governor appoints an executive director subject to confirmation by the Senate.

In 2003, the department was given authority to establish policy for assisted living, adult day services, and elder group homes.

The department advocates for elders by reviewing and commenting upon all state plans, budgets, laws, rules, regulations, and policies which affect elders and by providing technical assistance to any agency, organization, association, or individual representing the needs of elders.

SENIOR LIVING COORDINATING UNIT

§231.58

Department of Elder Affairs, 510 East Twelfth Street, Suite 2, Des Moines 50319; (515)725-3302

		Term Ending Date/		
Name	City	Type of Appointment		
Kumsan Song				
Robert Welsh	lowa City	June 30, 2008		
Kevin Concannon, Director, Depart	Statutory			
Mark Haverland, Director, Department of Elder Affairs		Statutory		
Mary Mincer Hansen, Director of Public Health		Statutory		
Steve Young, Director, Department of Inspections and Appeals		Statutory		
Ex officio, nonvoting members from the General Assembly:				
	Senate			
Nancy Boettger	Harlan	Statutory		
Amanda Ragan	Mason City	Statutory		
House				
David Heaton	Mount Pleasant	Statutory		
Lisa Heddens	Ames	Statutory		

ETHICS AND CAMPAIGN DISCLOSURE BOARD

§68B.32

510 East Twelfth Street, Suite 1A, Des Moines 50319; (515)281-4028; fax (515)281-3701; www.iowa.gov/ethics

W. Charles Smithson, Executive Director and Legal Counsel

Name	City	Term Ending Date
James A. Albert, Chair	Urbandale	April 30, 2009
Janet Carl	Grinnell	April 30, 2009
Patricia Harper	Waterloo	April 30, 2011