Barbara Miller	Maquoketa	April 30, 2013	
M. Kathleen Nellor	Mount Pleasant	April 30, 2013	
Surasee Rodari	Des Moines	April 30, 2012	
Mitchell L. Taylor	Burlington	April 30, 2014	
Ex officio member			
James M. Schipper, Superintendent of Banking, Chair			

The Superintendent of Banking is appointed by the Governor subject to confirmation by the Senate to a four-year term. The superintendent is an ex officio member and chair of the State Banking Council, which acts in an advisory capacity in matters which come before the superintendent.

The superintendent is charged with the supervision and regulation of all state-chartered banks, trust companies, debt management companies, delayed deposit services, money services businesses, mortgage bankers, mortgage brokers, individual mortgage registrants (aka mortgage loan originators), industrial loan companies, and regulated loan companies. The superintendent and Banking Division staff protect the interests and rights of depositors, borrowers, creditors, and shareholders of the entities subject to regulatory purview of the Banking Division.

The division conducts regular on-site examinations and off-site monitoring of regulated institutions and processes applications for new charters and licenses, charter conversions, mergers and acquisitions, dissolutions, new offices, office relocations, and office closures. In addition to its regulatory functions, the Banking Division provides fundamental and technical assistance to banks and advises governmental bodies, agencies, and individuals in banking matters.

The superintendent also administers and coordinates the licensing and regulation of several professions by bringing together the following licensing boards: Accountancy Examining Board, Architectural Examining Board, Engineering and Land Surveying Examining Board, Landscape Architectural Examining Board, Real Estate Appraiser Examining Board, the Real Estate Commission, and the Interior Design Examining Board.

The banking and finance bureaus are funded by assessments to the entities they regulate and use no tax dollars in their operations. The professional licensing bureau is funded by a combination of fees and an appropriation.

CREDIT UNION DIVISION

§533.103, 533.104

200 East Grand Avenue, Suite 370, Des Moines 50309; (515) 725-0505

CREDIT UNION REVIEW BOARD

§533.107

Credit Union Division, 200 East Grand Avenue, Suite 370, Des Moines 50309; (515) 725-0505

Name	City	Term Ending
Dave Cale, Chair	.Johnston	April 30, 2012
Paul Becker	Fort Dodge	April 30, 2013
Denise Dolan	Dubuque	April 30, 2012
Jeffrey Hayes	Cherokee	April 30, 2013
Timothy Marcsisak	. Atlantic	April 30, 2012

Michaela (Shelley) Parbs	Center Point	April 30, 2013
Janet Pepper	Des Moines	April 30, 2014

The Department of Credit Unions was established January 1, 1979, by the General Assembly, and was reorganized as the Credit Union Division within the Department of Commerce by the General Assembly effective July 1, 1986. The superintendent is appointed by and serves at the pleasure of the Governor subject to confirmation by the Senate. The seven-member review board is appointed by the Governor for staggered three-year terms, and is also subject to confirmation by the Senate. Two of the board members may be public members; however, at no time shall more than five of the members be directors or employees of a credit union. A list of nominees may be submitted to the Governor by any credit union located in the state. The board may adopt administrative rules pursuant to Iowa Code chapter 17A or take such action as it deems necessary or suitable to effect the provisions of Iowa Code chapter 533.

The superintendent is charged with the supervision, control, and enforcement of the laws, bylaws, rules, and regulations pertaining to the organization and operation of credit unions operating under a state charter. It is the intent and responsibility of the superintendent and division staff to protect the interests and corporate rights of more than 945,542 members of Iowa credit unions. This is done through regular examination and analysis of the operation in each credit union, with such remedial action taken as deemed necessary. In addition, the division provides an orderly process for the chartering, merger, conversion, and liquidation of state credit unions; advises governmental bodies and agencies and individuals in the matters of credit union affairs; provides fundamental and technical assistance to credit unions; provides state liaison with authorized member account insurers; and maintains an equitable fee structure and offset of division expenditures.

INSURANCE DIVISION

\$505.1, 505.2, 505.4, 546.2, 546.8 330 Maple Street, Des Moines 50319; (515) 281-5705

Term Ending

INSURANCE CONSUMER ADVOCATE

\$505.8

Insurance Division, 330 Maple Street, Des Moines 50319; (515) 281-4038 Angel Robinson

The Office of Commissioner of Insurance, as the executive head of the Insurance Division of the Department of Commerce, was created by the General Assembly in 1913. The first commissioner took office on July 1, 1914. Previous to that time, the supervision of insurance had been under the direction of the Auditor of State.

The Office of Commissioner of Insurance has general control, supervision, and direction over all insurance business transacted in the state and is charged with the responsibility of administering the laws of the state relating to insurance. In addition, the commissioner regulates securities, residential and motor vehicle service contracts, perpetual care cemeteries, and preneed funeral home sales and merchandise.

The Insurance Division has seven bureaus and offices that carry out the functions of the division. They are as follows:

Administration – Oversees the administration of the office, including personnel, budget, legislation, and policy. Also includes communications and consumer outreach.

Market Regulation – Handles citizens' complaints and inquiries and investigates any wrongdoing by insurance producers and companies. Reviews and approves as required under state law the rates