Department of Credit Unions

Executive Hills West

1209 E. Court Ave., Des Moines 50319

BETTY MINOR, administrator. [AMES A. BRODY, deputy administrator.

Review Board

AILEEN BROWN, Des Moines; term expires 1984. JERRY R. COUGHLON, Des Moines; term expires 1982. MICHAEL J. JACKSON, Waterloo; term expires 1983. DOROTHY KRAUSE, Iowa City; term expires 1982. JAMES J. MC CUE, Cedar Rapids; term expires 1984. LOIS JEAN MILLER, Carroll; term expires 1983. LAYTON M. STUMP, Chairman, Waterloo; term expires 1982.

The Department of Credit Unions was established Jan. 1, 1979, by the 67th General Assembly. The administrator is appointed by and serves at the pleasure of the governor subject to confirmation by the Senate. The seven member Review Board is appointed by the governor for staggered three-year terms, also subject to confirmation by the Senate. Two of the board members may be public members; however, at no time shall more than five of the members be directors or employees of a credit union. A list of nominees may be submitted to the governor by any credit union located in the state. The board may adopt, amend and repeal rules pursuant to Chapter 17A or take such action as it deems necessary or suitable to effect the provisions of Chapter 533, Code of Iowa.

The administrator is charged with the supervision, control and enforcement of the laws, bylaws, rules and regulations pertaining to the organization and operation of credit unions operating under a state charter. It is the intent and responsibility of the administrator and department staff to protect the interests and corporate rights of the more than 500,000 members of Iowa credit unions. This is done through regular examination and analization of the operation in each credit union, with such remedial action taken as deemed necessary. In addition the department provides an orderly process for the chartering, merger, conversion and inquidation of state credit unions; advises governmental bodies and agencies and individuals in matters of credit union affairs; provides fundamental and technical assistance to credit unions; properly disposes of public complaint or inquiry pertaining to the management of state credit unions; provides state liaison with authorized member account insurers and maintains an equitable fee structure and offset of department expenditures.

Iowa Department of Job Service Appeal Board

1000 East Grand, Des Moines 50319

JAMES A. ALTHAUS, chairman, Des Moines; term expires 1986. CLIFF BURROUGHS, vice chairman, Greene; term expires 1984. NORMA I. LOCK, board member, Des Moines; term expires 1982.

The full-time, three-member board was created by statute, organized in 1976, to review and decide disputed claims for unemployment benefits. The appeal board consists of a representative of management, a representative of labor and a representative of the public. Members are appointed by the governor for six year terms on a staggered basis.