status, and the board has the decision of what activities will be reimbursable as benefits. The board preapproves all costs prior to the commencement of the activities at an eligible site.

### COMMISSION ON UNIFORM STATE LAWS

85.1

Drake University, College of Law, 2507 University Avenue, Des Moines 50311; (515)271-3985

Name	City	Term Ending Date
Sheldon Kurtz	lowa City	June 30, 2008
Linda Neuman	Le Claire	June 30, 2008
David S. Walker	Des Moines	June 30, 2008

# **DEPARTMENT OF VETERANS AFFAIRS**

Ch 35A

Camp Dodge, Building A6A, Johnston 50131; (515)242-5331; www.jowaya.org

Patrick Palmersheim, Executive Director.....Serves at Pleasure of Governor

The Governor appoints an executive director, subject to confirmation by the Senate, who shall serve at the pleasure of the Governor. The executive director is responsible for administering the duties of the department; establishing administrative rules for department programs; maintaining military service records and graves records; assisting county veteran affairs commissions; providing information to government agencies, funeral homes, and veteran service organizations; and administering the War Orphans Educational Fund, County Grant Program, Vietnam Bonus, Severely Injured Veteran Grant Program, and Veterans Trust Fund. The executive director must be a resident of the state and an honorably discharged veteran who served in the armed forces of the United States during a conflict or war.

## COMMISSION OF VETERANS AFFAIRS

§35A.2 as amended by 2007 Iowa Acts, House File 817

Camp Dodge, Building A6A,

Johnston 50131; (515)242-5331

		Term Ending Date/	
Name	City	Type of Appointment	
Steven Mulcahy, Chair	Ottumwa	April 30, 2011	
Donald Delamore	Cedar Falls	April 30, 2011	
Darlene McMartin	Hancock	April 30, 2008	
Laurel Phipps	Marshalltown	April 30, 2010	
David Rehbein	Ames	April 30, 2010	
Cecelia Schroeder	Des Moines	April 30, 2008	
Rosetta Waychus	Mason City	April 30, 2010	
Ex officio, nonvoting members:			
Patrick Palmersheim, Executive Director, Department of Veterans Affairs		Statutory	
Daniel R. Steen, Iowa Veterans Home Commandant		Statutory	

The General Assembly, in 1992, created the Commission of Veterans Affairs. In 2004, the commission's statute was amended to increase the number of commissioners. The Governor appoints nine commissioners; eight must be honorably discharged members of the armed forces of the United States, and one must be from the public at-large. All must be confirmed by the Senate. In 2005, the General Assembly created the Iowa Department of Veterans Affairs.

Under the auspices of Iowa Code chapter 35A, the commission advises the executive director and other employees necessary to carry out the duties of the commission and the department. The

commission supervises the commandant's administration of commission policy for the operation and conduct of the Iowa Veterans Home.

#### IOWA VETERANS HOME COMMANDANT

§35D.13

1301 Summit Street, Marshalltown 50158-5485; (641)752-1501

Daniel R. Steen, Commandant ......Serves at Pleasure of Governor

The Iowa Veterans Home, located in Marshalltown, is a long-term health care facility providing multiple levels of care, with attendant health care services, for honorably discharged veterans, their dependent spouses, and surviving spouses of honorably discharged veterans. The Governor appoints a commandant, subject to Senate confirmation, who serves at the pleasure of the Governor. The commandant reports directly to the commission and has the immediate custody and control, subject to the orders of the commission, of all property used in connection with the home. The commandant must be a resident of the state, an honorably discharged veteran who served in the armed forces of the United States, and a licensed nursing home administrator.

# DEPARTMENT OF WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT

Ch 84A

1000 East Grand Avenue, Des Moines 50319; (515)281-5387; www.iowaworkforce.org

Elisabeth Buck, Director ......Serves at Pleasure of Governor Joseph Walsh, Deputy Director

lowa Workforce Development commits its resources to lowa's prosperity by working to ensure the income security, productivity, safety, and health of all lowans. The department strives to provide safe workplaces, provide a productive and economically secure workforce, provide all lowans with access to workforce development services, and create a model workplace.

The department is comprised of six divisions — Administrative Services, Labor Services, Policy and Information, Unemployment Insurance Services, Workers' Compensation, and Workforce Center Administration. The director has general supervision over the agency and prepares, administers, and controls the budget of the department and its divisions.

## ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES DIVISION

1000 East Grand Avenue, Des Moines 50319; (515)281-5361

Martin Frederickson, Administrator

The Administrative Services Division provides administrative support functions for the department, including customer service, employee services, building management, office services, financial reporting, and accounting. The division also develops, maintains, and manages lowa Workforce Development's information technology services.

### LABOR SERVICES DIVISION

§84A.1, Ch 91

1000 East Grand Avenue, Des Moines 50319; (515)281-3606

Dave Neil, Labor Commissioner

The Labor Services Division administers a variety of programs, including amusement parks/ rides inspections; asbestos abatement licensing; boiler inspection; child labor; contractor registration; elevators and escalators; hazardous chemical required reporting; minimum wage and wage collection; Iowa occupational safety and health consultation and education; Iowa occupational safety and health enforcement; and OSHA recordkeeping. The Labor Commissioner