## Operations and Finance Division

Nancy J. Richardson, division director; 800 Lincoln Way, Ames 50010; 515/239-1340

Supports the entire DOT by providing functions which include accounting, budgeting, auditing; data processing; purchasing, inventory, fleet and facilities management; and procurement of transit vehicles for local agencies.

## Planning and Programming Division

Dennis L. Tice, division director; 800 Lincoln Way, Ames 50010; 515/239-1661

Serves the planning needs of all transportation modes; guides the allocation of funds for state transportation improvements; produces planning documents for rail, aviation and highway systems.

## **Project Development Division**

E. Thomas Cackler, division director; 800 Lincoln Way, Ames 50010; 515/239-1124

Designs highway and bridge projects and lets contracts for that work; performs quality control inspections on these projects; acquires, manages and disposes of right of way; and assists local governments with airport improvement projects, federal or state transit assistance, and projects involving railroads, highways and recreational trails.

## **Railway Finance Authority**

Darrel Rensink, secretary; 800 Lincoln Way, Ames 50010; 515/239-1111

FRED MCKIM, chair, Arnolds Park; term expires 2002 JOSEPH H. HARPER, vice chair, Davenport; term expires 1998 CARMEN E. HALVERSON, Cedar Falls; term expires 2000 CATHERINE JOHNSON, Iowa City; term expires 2000 EMIL PAVICH, Council Bluffs; term expires 2002

The five member board is appointed by the governor, subject to Senate confirmation. The director of the Department of Transportation serves as secretary to the board and the Iowa Department of Transportation employees serve as staff. To assure that the state follows a single transportation policy, the authority is directed to exercise its duties and powers consistent with the policy and plans of the Iowa Transportation Commission.

The Iowa Railway Finance Authority was established by legislation in 1980 for the financing of railway facilities. The authority will enable the state to actively participate in preserving vital components of Iowa's rail system.

## **VETERANS AFFAIRS, COMMISSION OF**

Randy G. Brown, executive director; Camp Dodge Office, 7700 N.W. Beaver Drive, Johnston 51031; 515/242-5331

JERRY L. MEEK, chairperson, Military Order/Purple Heart, Des Moines MILDRED R. DAWSON, vice-chairperson, member at large, Cedar Rapids MURIEL E. ALLAN, Veterans of Foreign Wars, Maquoketa GAIL K. DANILSON, American Legion, Woodward MICHAEL SCHEIBELER, Disabled American Veterans, Atlantic MARY ELLEN WHITE, Vietnam Veterans of America, Grinnell BARRY REMINGTON, Amvets, Cedar Falls

The 74th General Assembly, 1992, created the Commission of Veteran Affairs. The governor appoints seven commissioners, six must be honorably discharged members of the armed forces of the United States, and one member of the public at-large. All must be confirmed by the Senate. Under the auspices of Chapter 35A, Code of Iowa, the commission shall prescribe the duties of an executive director and other employees necessary to carry out the duties of the commission. The commission shall supervise the commandant's administration of commission policy for the operation and conduct of the Iowa Veterans Home, maintain military service records, graves records, assist county veteran affairs commissions, provide information to government agencies, funeral homes, veteran service organizations, and administer the War Orphans Educational Fund.

## Iowa Commission of Veterans Affairs

Randy G. Brown, executive director, Camp Dodge, Bldg. A6A, 7700 N.W. Beaver Drive, Johnston 50131-1902; 800/838-4692; 515/242-5331; FAX 515/242-5659

The governor shall appoint an executive director, subject to confirmation by the Senate, who shall serve at the pleasure of the governor. He is responsible for administering the duties of the commission other than those related to the Iowa Veterans Home. The executive director shall be a resident of the state of Iowa and an honorably discharged veteran who served in the armed forces of the United States during a conflict or war.

#### The Iowa Veterans Home

Jack Dack, commandant. 1301 Summit, Marshalltown 50158-5485; 800/645-4591; 515/752-1501; FAX 515/753-4278

The Iowa Veterans Home, located in Marshalltown, shall be maintained as a long term health care facility providing multiple levels of care, with attendant health care services, for honorably discharged veterans, their dependent spouses, and for surviving spouses of honorably discharged veterans. The governor shall appoint a commandant, subject to Senate confirmation, who shall serve at the pleasure of the governor. The commandant shall report directly to the commission and shall have the immediate custody and control, subject to the orders of the commission, of all property used in connection with the home. The commandant must be a resident of the state of lowa, an honorably discharged veteran who served in the armed forces of the United States during a conflict or war, and a licensed nursing home administrator.

## VOTER REGISTRATION COMMISSION

W. Douglas Lovitt, director; Hoover State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; 515/281-5781

PAUL D. PATE, Secretary of State, chair KEITH FORTMANN, designee for chair of Republican Party of Iowa STEVE CAMPBELL, designee for chair of Iowa Democratic Party LINDA LANGENBERG, designee of the president of IA State Assoc. of County Auditors

The Iowa Voter Registration Commission establishes overall voter registration policies for the state registrar of voters and county commissioners of registration. It adopts rules and standards related to registration forms, maintenance of registration records, and procedures to be used in the registration process.

The commission actively promotes registration and participation in elections by all Iowans. Information concerning registration procedures and deadlines are routinely released to the public before major elections.

Established in 1976, the commission was originally composed of the chairs of the two major political parties and the secretary of state. Legislation passed in 1995 added to the group a representative from the Iowa State Association of County Auditors.

Voter Registration Commissioners serve terms of indefinite duration.

# VOTING MACHINES AND ELECTRONIC VOTING SYSTEMS, BOARD OF EXAMINERS FOR

c/o Secretary of State, Hoover Building, Des Moines 50319; 515/281-5865

CURTIS P. MINEART, chair, Washington; term expires 2002 DOUGLAS JONES, Iowa City; term expires 1998 MARY SHULTZ, Webster City; term expires 2000

Requests for certification of voting equipment and voting booths are submitted to the secretary of state, who then notifies the Board of Examiners of the time and place for the examination and testing of the equipment. Following administrative rules and the requirements of the Code of Iowa, the board examines and tests the equipment and determines whether or not the equipment may be used in the state. The reports of the Board of Examiners are filed and kept in the Office of the Secretary of State. Only voting machines or systems and voting booths approved by the Board of Examiners may be used at Iowa elections. Board members are appointed by the governor for sixyear terms.