Maintenance Division

Neil Volmer, division director; 800 Lincoln Way, Ames 50010; 515-239-1708

Maintains highways and bridges; conducts railroad track safety inspections and railroad accident investigations; and administers the rail/highway grade crossing program.

Motor Vehicle Division

Shirley E. Andre, division director; Park Fair Mall, 100 Euclid Avenue, Des Moines 50306-0382; 515-237-3202

Licenses drivers, vehicle dealers and commercial vehicle operators; administers the county registration and titling of automobiles and trucks; enforces licensing, titling and commercial vehicle operating laws.

Operations and Finance

Nancy J. Richardson, division director; 800 Lincoln Way, Ames 50010; 515-239-1340

Supports the entire DOT by providing functions which include accounting, budgeting, auditing; data processing; purchasing, inventory, fleet and facilities management; and procurement of transit vehicles for local agencies.

Planning and Programming Division

Dennis L. Tice, division director; 800 Lincoln Way, Ames 50010; 515-239-1661

Serves the planning needs of all transportation modes; guides the allocation of funds for state transportation improvements; produces planning documents for rail, aviation and highway systems.

Project Development

E. Thomas Cackler, division director; 800 Lincoln Way, Ames 50010; 515-239-1124

Designs highway and bridge projects and lets contracts for that work; performs quality control inspections on these projects; acquires, manages and disposes of right of way; and assists local governments with airport improvement projects, federal or state transit assistance, and projects involving railroads, highways and recreational trails.

Railway Finance Authority

Darrel Rensink, secretary; 800 Lincoln Way, Ames 50010; 515-239-1111

FRED MCKIM, chair, Okoboji; term expires 1996 JOSEPH H. HARPER, vice-chair, Davenport; term expires 1998 CARMEN E. HALVERSON, Cedar Falls; term expires 2000 CATHERINE JOHNSON, Iowa City; term expires 2000 NORAL D. JOHNSON, Essex; term expires 1996

The five member board is appointed by the governor, subject to Senate confirmation. The director of the Department of Transportation serves as secretary to the board and the Iowa Department of Transportation employees serve as staff. To assure that the state follows a single transportation policy, the authority is directed to exercise its duties and powers consistent with the policy and plans of the Iowa Transportation Commission.

The Iowa Railway Finance Authority was established by legislation in 1980 for the financing of railway facilities. The authority will enable the state to actively participate in preserving vital components of Iowa's rail system.

VETERANS AFFAIRS, COMMISSION OF

Randy G. Brown, executive director; Camp Dodge Office, 7700 N.W. Beaver Drive, Johnston 51031; 515/242-5331

MURIEL E. ALLAN, Maquoketa DOROTHY ANDREWS, Cedar Rapids GAIL K. DANILSON, Woodward MILDRED DAWSON, Cedar Rapids LARRY J. JATHO, Des Moines ROBERT STEBEN, Boone VACANT

The 74th General Assembly, 1992 session, created the Commission of Veteran Affairs. The governor appoints seven commissioners, five are veterans selected from chartered service organizations and two at-large. Chapter 35A, *Code of Iowa*, directs the commission to: collect and maintain information and records concerning Iowa

veterans; assist county Veteran Affairs commissioners and hold two service schools annually for them; administer the War Orphans Educational Aid fund; maintain a permanent military graves registry; and establish commission policy for the operations and conduct of the Iowa Veterans Home.

The executive director, who shall be a veteran, is appointed by and serves at the pleasure of the governor. The executive director of the Commission of Veteran Affairs has supervisory direction and control of the commission and is responsible to the governor for carrying out the provisions of Chapter 35A.

The Iowa Veterans Home

Jack Dack, commandant; Marshalltown 50158; 515/752-1501

The Iowa Veterans Home in Marshalltown provides long-term care to disabled, chronically ill or aged Iowa veterans and their dependent or surviving spouses. The facility provides services to meet physical, psychological, social, emotional and spiritual needs.

VOTER REGISTRATION COMMISSION

W. Douglas Lovitt, director; Hoover State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; 515/281-5781

PAUL D. PATE, Secretary of State, chair

MIKE WILD, designee for chair of Republican Party of Iowa

MIKE PETERSON, chair of Iowa Democratic Party

GRANT VEEDER, president of Iowa State Association of County Auditors

The Iowa Voter Registration Commission determines general policy to be followed by the state registrar of voters and county commissioners of registration. It adopts rules and standards regarding forms and procedures to be used in the registration process.

The commission actively promotes registration and participation in elections by all Iowans. Each year, millions of postcard registration forms are made available from hundreds of sites across the state. Information concerning registration procedures and deadlines are routinely released to the public before major elections.

Established in 1976, the commission is composed of the chairs of the two major political parties and the secretary of state, or their designees. Commissioners serve no specific terms.

VOTING MACHINES AND ELECTRONIC VOTING SYSTEMS, BOARD OF EXAMINERS FOR

c/o Secretary of State, Statehouse, Des Moines 50319; 515/281-5823

CURTIS P. MINEART, chair, Washington; term expires 1996

DOUGLAS JONES, Iowa City; term expires 1998 MARY SHULTZ, Webster City; term expires 2000

Requests for certification of voting equipment and voting booths are submitted to the secretary of state, who then notifies the Board of Examiners of the time and place for the examination and testing of the equipment. Following administrative rules and the requirements of the *Code of Iowa*, the board examines and tests the equipment and determines whether or not the equipment may be used in the state. The reports of the Board of Examiners are filed and kept in the Office of the Secretary of State. Only voting machines or systems and voting booths approved by the Board of Examiners may be used at Iowa elections. Board members are appointed by the secretary of state for five-year terms.

> Opposite: Shown is aerial view of U.S. Capitol with Senate office buildings on left and House office buildings on right. A Capitol reflecting pool is in foreground.