Rail and Water Division

Les Holland, division administrator; 800 Lincoln Way, Ames 50010; 515/239-1646

Responsible for administering state and federal rail assistance programs, evaluating rail abandonments and rail merger applications, and administering grade crossing improvement programs. Provides staff assistance to the Iowa Railway Finance Authority.

Responsible for coordinating use of river transportation with other transportation modes and examining potential for more efficient use of Iowa's waterways.

Railway Finance Authority

Darrel Rensink, secretary; 800 Lincoln Way, Ames 50010; 515/239-1111

FRED MCKIM, chair, West Bend; term expires 1996 JOSEPH H. HARPER, vice-chair, Blue Grass; term expires 1998 CARMEN E. HALVERSON, Cedar Falls; term expires 1994 CATHERINE JOHNSON, Iowa City; term expires 1994 NORAL D. JOHNSON, Essex; term expires 1996

The five member board is appointed by the governor, subject to Senate confirmation. The director of the Department of Transportation serves as secretary to the board and the Iowa Department of Transportation employees serve as staff. To assure that the state follows a single transportation policy, the authority is directed to exercise its duties and powers consistent with the policy and plans of the Iowa Transportation Commission.

The Iowa Railway Finance Authority was established by legislation in 1980 for the financing of railway facilities. The authority will enable the state to actively participate in preserving vital components of Iowa's rail system.

VOTER REGISTRATION COMMISSION

W. Douglas Lovitt, director; Hoover State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; 515/281-5781

LINDA J. WRIGHT, designee for state chair of Republican Party of Iowa VACANCY, designee for state chair of Iowa Democratic Party TIM WADDELL, designee of the Iowa secretary of state

The Iowa Voter Registration Commission determines general policy to be followed by the state registrar of voters and county commissioners of registration. It adopts rules and standards regarding forms and procedures to be used in the registration process.

The commission actively promotes registration and participation in elections by all Iowans. Each year, millions of postcard registration forms are made available from hundreds of sites across the state. Information concerning registration procedures and deadlines are routinely released to the public before major elections.

Established in 1976, the commission is composed of the chairs of the two major political parties and the secretary of state, or their designees. Commissioners serve no specific terms.

VETERANS AFFAIRS, COMMISSION OF

Dale L. Renaud, executive director; Camp Dodge Office, 7700 N.W. Beaver Drive, Johnston 51031; 515/242-5331

MURIEL E. ALLAN, Maquoketa; term expires 1994 DOROTHY ANDREWS, Cedar Rapids; term expires 1994 GAIL K. DANILSON, Woodward; term expires 1994 MILDRED DAWSON, Cedar Rapids; term expires 1995 VAL LIKENS, West Des Moines; term expires 1996 MITCHELL O'NEEL, Ankeny; term expires 1995 ROBERT STEBEN, Boone; term expires 1996

The 74th General Assembly, 1992 session, created the Commission of Veteran Affairs. The governor appoints seven commissioners, five are veterans selected from chartered service organizations and two at-large. Chapter 35A, Code of Iowa, directs the commission to: collect and maintain information and records concerning Iowa veterans; assist county Veteran Affairs commissioners and hold two service schools annually for them; administer the War Orphans Educational Aid fund; maintain a permanent military graves registry; and establish commission policy for the operations and conduct of the Iowa Veterans Home.

The executive director, who shall be a veteran, is appointed by and serves at the pleasure of the governor. The executive director of the Commission of Veteran Affairs has supervisory direction and control of the commission and is responsible to the governor for carrying out the provisions of Chapter 35A.

The Iowa Veterans Home

Jack Dack, commandant; Marshalltown 50158; 515/752-1501

The Iowa Veterans Home in Marshalltown provides long-term care to disabled, chronically ill or aged Iowa veterans and their dependent or surviving spouses. The facility provides services to meet physical, psychological, social, emotional and spiritual needs.

VOTING MACHINES AND ELECTRONIC VOTING SYSTEMS, BOARD OF EXAMINERS FOR

c/o Secretary of State, Statehouse, Des Moines 50319; 515/281-5865

CURTIS P. MINEART, chair, Washington; term expires 1994 LOIS SCHNOOR, Maquoketa; term expires 1994 DONALD W. SPENCER, Ruthven; term expires 1994

Requests for certification of voting equipment and voting booths are submitted to the secretary of state, who then notifies the Board of Examiners of the time and place for the examination and testing of the equipment. Following administrative rules and the requirements of the Code of Iowa, the board examines and tests the equipment and determines whether or not the equipment may be used in the state. The reports of the Board of Examiners are filed and kept in the Office of the Secretary of State. Only voting machines or systems and voting booths approved by the Board of Examiners may be used at Iowa elections. Board members are appointed by the governor for five-year terms.

Opposite: A young girl finds a cozy blanket of leaves in her grandparents' farmyard. Photo by Marie M. Jeffers, Laurens.