The office of administrative services coordinates personnel services and shared administrative support services for the department, coordinates the development of the department's annual budget, and maintains monitoring and control systems for the department's finances. The office is headed by the deputy director who is appointed by the director, and who serves as acting director during his absence.

Alcoholic Beverages Division

Richard Morrell, administrator; 1918 S.E. Hulsizer Ave., Ankeny 50021; 515-964-6803

BENNETT GORDON, Des Moines; term expires 1987

DEAN FREDERICKSON, Harlan; term expires 1988

INGWER HANSEN, Hartley; term expires 1988

LARRY HUEGLI, Mason City; term expires 1991 ANN JORGENSEN, Garrison; term expires 1990

The Alcoholic Beverages Division was created administratively within the Department of Commerce to administer and enforce the laws of this state concerning beer and alcoholic liquor. An alcoholic beverages commission was created within the division and is composed of five members, not more than three of whom shall belong to the same political party. Commission members are appointed by the governor for five year terms subject to confirmation by two-thirds of the Senate. The commission shall act as a division policy-making body and serve in an advisory capacity to the division administrator.

The division administrator is appointed by the governor to a four-year term subject to confirmation by two-thirds of the senate. The administrator supervises the daily operations of the division and executes the policies of the division as determined by the commission. The commission may affirm, reverse or amend all actions of the administrator, including but not limited to the following instances:

Purchases of alcoholic liquor for resale by the division.

The granting or refusing of liquor licenses and permits, wine permits, and Ð. beer permits and the suspension or revocation of the licenses and permits.

C. The establishment of wholesale prices of alcoholic liquor.

The division has sole power to buy, import and sell at wholesale all alcoholic liquors in the state; to appoint necessary employees; to determine the nature, form and capacity of packages kept or sold under the act, and to prescribe or approve labels and seals to be placed on same; to license, inspect and control the manufacture of alcoholic liquors in Iowa; and to make rules and regulations necessary for carrying out the provisions of the act.

Banking Division

William R. Bernau, superintendent of banking; 200 E. Grand Avenue, Des Moines 50309; 515-281-4014

S. J. BROWNLEE, Emmetsburg; term expires 1989 JOSEPH L. FAHN, Portsmouth; term expires 1989

WILLIAM C. HESS, Coon Rapids; term expires 1989

DARLYS M. HULME, Traer; term expires 1989

HARRY F. REED, Waterloo; term expires 1989

RAYMOND F. TREDWAY, Spencer; term expires 1989

The superintendent of banking and members of the State Banking Board are appointed by the governor for terms of four years.

The superintendent of banking is charged by law with the supervision and regulation of all banks, trust companies, finance companies, debt management companies, and persons engaged in the business of selling written instruments for payment or transmission of money. The superintendent of banking is an ex-officio member and chair of the State Banking Board, which acts in an advisory capacity to the superintendent in most matters.

Credit Union Division

Betty Minor, superintendent; 1209 East Court Ave., Des Moines 50319 515-281-6514