ASSESSOR EDUCATION COMMISSION

Gerald D. Bair, director of revenue; Hoover State Office Bldg., Des Moines 50319; 515-281-3204

ELIZABETH JOHNSON, Chariton; term expires 1986

BOB HASTINGS, Pottawattamie County assessor

JOHN DYKSTRA, Louisa County assessor

LEROY PETERSON, Grimes; term expires 1986

ANN SPANGLER, Page County recorder, Clarinda; term expires 1986

PHILLIP MILLER, Des Moines

GERALD D. BAIR, director of revenue, Des Moines

The Assessor Education Commission was established on Jan. 1, 1979, pursuant to Senate File 221, enacted by the 67th General Assembly. This seven-member commission consists of the director of revenue, two Iowa assessors appointed by the executive board of the Iowa State Association of Assessors, one member appointed by the State Board of Tax Review and three lay persons appointed by the governor.

The AEC was created to develop and administer a program of continuing education for Iowa assessors and deputy assessors emphasizing assessment and appraisal procedures, assessment laws of the state and the subject matter specified in Section 441.5, 1985 Code of Iowa. The basic responsibilities of the Assessor Education Commission are:

- 1. To establish or designate the courses to be offered as part of the continuing education program, content of courses, and the number of hours of classroom instruction for each course.
- 2. To meet periodically to evaluate the continuing education program in order to make any changes necessary.

To uphold the confidentiality of examinations.

4. Certification to conference boards of eligibility for reappointment of assessors.

Rule making.

The objective of the AEC is to continually strive to keep all Iowa assessors informed of educational requirements and commission activities, to certify courses that address relevant subject matters and to explore different avenues of education as need arises.

BANKING, DEPARTMENT OF

Thomas H. Huston; superintendent of banking; 530 Liberty Bldg., 418 Sixth Ave., Des Moines 50309; 515-281-4014

S. REBECCA BANKS, West Des Moines; term expires 1985

MARVIN F. CHEVALIER, Postville; term expires 1985

WILLIAM C. HESS, Coon Rapids; term expires 1985

HERMAN C. KILPPER, Des Moines; term expires 1985

HARRY F. REED, Waterloo; term expires 1985

MARGUERITE S. STOLL, Anamosa; term expires 1985

The superintendent of banking and members of the State Banking Board are

appointed by the governor for terms of four years.

The superintendent of banking is charged by law with supervision, direction and control of all banks and trust companies operating under state charter, loan companies operating under the Iowa Small Loan Act and any individual, partnership, unincorporated association agency or corporation licensed to do the business of debt management. Persons or organizations engaged in the sale of written instruments for transmission or payment of money are required to deposit bond with and submit financial statement to the superintendent of banking. The superintendent of banking is an ex officio member and chair of the State Banking Board which acts in an advisory capacity to the superintendent in most matters.