non-profit, tax-exempt organizations and individual artists based in Iowa. Staff members provide consultation to arts organizations and artists, free of charge, in the use of IAC programs, local arts council planning, fiscal management and many other areas. Staff and board members also serve as speakers for workshops and seminars throughout the state.

The Iowa Arts Council Board adopted the following mission statement in June 1980: "The mission of the Iowa Arts Council is to encourage active participation of the citizens of Iowa in aesthetic awareness and creative expression, and to create a cultural climate in which the arts may flourish."

Department of Banking

530 Liberty Bldg., 418 Sixth Ave., Des Moines 50309

THOMAS H. HUSTON, superintendent of banking and ex officio member and chairman of the state Banking Board.

JULJA ANDERSON, Ames; term expires 1981.

VINCENT C. CHAPMEN, West Des Moines; term expires 1981.

MARVIN F. CHEVALIER, Postville; term expires 1981.

C. LYLE MONAHAN, Audubon; term expires 1981.

BETTY L. STEELE, Des Moines; term expires 1981.

CHARLES H. WALSH, Burlington; term expires 1981.

HOWARD K. HALL, deputy superintendent of banking

RON L. BRADSHAW, assistant to the superintendent.

AUSTIN T. HELGERSON, assistant to the superintendent.

N. DEAN ROWLAND, bank examination analyst.

STEVEN C. MOSER, bank examination analyst

RANDY STEIG, assistant to the superintendent. LARRY D. KINGERY, small loan supervisor.

LARKY D. KINGERT, small loan supervisor.

WILLIAM V. MULLINS, bank examination analyst

The superintendent of banking and members of the state Banking Board are appointed by the governor for terms of four years.

The superintendent of banking is charged by law with supervision, direction and control of all banks and trust companies operating under state charter, loan companies operating under the Iowa Small Loan Act and any individual, partnership, unincorporated association agency or corporation licensed to do the business of debt management. Persons or organizations engaged in the sale of written instruments for transmission or payment of money are required to deposit bond with and submit financial statement to the superintendent of banking. The superintendent of banking is an ex officio member and chairman of the state banking board which acts in an advisory capacity to the superintendent in most matters.

Iowa Beer and Liquor Control Department

1918 S.E. Hulsizer Ave., Ankeny 50021

GLEN FOBES, chairman, Edgewood; term expires 1983. DEAN FREDERICKSON, vice chairman, Harlan; term expires 1984. ANDREA VAN BEEK, secretary, Orange City; term expires 1985. BENNETT GORDON, Des Moines; term expires 1982. DANIEL CAHILL, Burlington; term expires 1986. ROLLAND A, GALLAGHER, director.

The original Iowa Liquor Control Commission was replaced by an act of the 64th General Assembly.

The Act provided for the creation of the Iowa Beer and Liquor Control Department to administer and enforce the laws of this state concerning beer and alcoholic liquor. Within this department was created a liquor control council composed of five members, not more than three of whom shall belong to the same political party. The initial council was appointed by the governor for respective terms of one, two, three, four, and five years, to commence Jan. 1, 1972. Subsequent appointments are to be made for five years, subject to confirmation by two-thirds of the Senate. The council was empowered to appoint a full-time director subject to the approval of two-thirds of the Senate, to serve at the pleasure of the council.