## **Department of Banking**

530 Liberty Bldg., 418 Sixth Avenue, Des Moines 50309

THOMAS H. HUSTON, Superintendent of Banking and ex officio member and chairman of the State Banking Board. JULIA ANDERSON, Ames; term expires 1981. VINCENT C. CHAPMEN, West Des Moines; term expires 1981. MARVIN F. CHEVALIER, Postville; term expires 1981. C. LYLE MONAHAN, Audubon; term expires 1981. BETTY L. STEELE, Des Moines; term expires 1981. CHARLES H. WALSH, Burlington; term expires 1981. HOWARD K. HALL, Deputy Superintendent of Banking STEVE ALLEN, Assistant to the Superintendent. AUSTIN T. HELGERSON, Assistant to the Superintendent. RON L. BRADSHAW, Bank Examination Analyst. RANDY STEIG, Bank Examination Analyst JOCK D. STEVENSON, Assistant to the Superintendent. MARLIN REED, Credit Union Supervisor. LARRY D. KINGERY, Small Loan Supervisor. MICHAEL F. NEWLAND, Bank Examination Analyst JAMES A. BRODY, Credit Union Examination Analyst. The Superintendent of Banking and members of the State Banking Board are

appointed by the Governor for terms of four years. The superintendent of banking is charged by law with supervision, direction and control of all banks and trust companies operating under state charter, state chartered credit unions, loan companies operating under the Iowa Small Loan Act and any individual, partnership, unincorporated association agency or corporation licensed to do the business of debt management. Persons or organizations engaged in the sale of written instruments for transmission or payment of money are required to deposit bond with and submit financial statement to the superintendent of banking. The superintendent of banking is an ex officio member and chairman of the state banking board which acts in an advisory capacity to the superintendent in most matters.

## Iowa Beer and Liquor Control Department

300 Fourth St., State Office Bldg., Des Moines 50319

JAMES MULQUEEN, Chairman, Council Bluffs; term expires 1979. BENNETT GORDON, Vice Chairman, Des Moines; term expires 1982. GLEN FOBES, Secretary, Edgewood; term expires 1983. JOAN BALLANTYNE, Cherokee; term expires 1980. DON BELL, New London; term expires 1981. ROLLAND A. GALLAGHER, Director.

The original Iowa Liquor Control Commission was replaced by an Act of the 64th General Assembly.

The Act provided for the creation of the Iowa Beer and Liquor Control Department to administer and enforce the laws of this State concerning beer and alcoholic liquor. Within this department was created a liquor control council composed of five members, not more than three of whom shall belong to the same political party. The initial council was appointed by the Governor for respective terms of one, two, three, four and five years, to commence Jan. 1, 1972. Subsequent appointments are to be made for five years, subject to confirmation by two-thirds of the Senate. The council was empowered to appoint a full-time director subject to the approval of two-thirds of the Senate, to serve at the pleasure of the council.

 The council shall act as a policy-making body and serve in an advisory capacity to the director. The director shall be responsible for the daily operations of the department and execute the policies of the department as determined by the council.
The council may affirm, reverse, or amend all actions of the director, including but not limited to the following instances: