Iowa State Arts Council

ALICE BOWERS, Keokuk; term expires 1977. **JACK L. BRIGGS, Des Moines; term expires 1978.** RAYMOND FORSBERG, Waterloo; term expires 1977. J.W. "JIM" HENRY, Sioux City; term expires 1977. ANN JORGENSEN, Garrison; term expires 1979. MARY ELLEN KIMBALL, Osceola; term expires 1978. PHYLLIS LEPKE, Ames; term expires 1978. RHODA M. MCCARTNEY, Charles City; term expires 1978. MARIE MILLARD, Woodbine; term expires 1977. H. MEL WILLITS, Des Moines; term expires 1977. MARIBETH SCHECHTMAN, Carroll; term expires 1979. LINDA HANSEN SOLHEIM, Estherville; term expires 1979. JERRY G. SOLLOWAY, Ph.D., Ottumwa; term expires 1979. FRANK SUMMERSIDE, LeMars; term expires 1977. JEROME W. WADIAN, Fayette; term expires 1979. **JACK E. OLDS, Des Moines; Executive Director.**

The 15-member state arts council was established by law June 15, 1967. James Schramm of Burlington, then chairman of the State Arts Council Advisory Committee, described the signing as "an important first step in the official recognition of the importance of the creative arts in Iowa."

The council is appointed by the Governor and charged with planning a state cultural program. The council selects a director, who must be approved by the governor and two-thirds of the Senate.

The Arts Council has reached into every county in the state to provide exhibits, performances, programs or consultation. It works with and for communities desirous of becoming involved with the arts.

The council is authorized to accept federal aid or private contributions and works in areas including music, theater, dance, painting, literature, architecture, films, photography and research.

Department of Banking

Office 530 Liberty Bldg., 418 Sixth Avenue, Des Moines

THOMAS H. HUSTON, Superintendent of Banking and ex officio member and chairman of the State Banking Board.

JULIA ANDERSON, Ames.

[AMES W. CRAVENS, Sanborn.

IOSEPH G. KNOCK, Creston.

FRANCIS E. PRICE, Des Moines.

JOHN B. RIGLER, Muscatine.

ED H. SPETMAN, JR. Council Bluffs.

HOWARD K. HALL, Deputy Superintendent of Banking. CORTLAND D. PETERSON, Assistant to the Superintendent of Banking.

AUSTIN T. HELGERSON, Assistant to the Superintendent of Banking.

RON L. BRADSHAW, Bank Examination Analyst.

STEVE ALLEN, Bank Examination Analyst.

JOCK D. STEVENSON, Assistant to the Superintendent of Banking.

MARLIN REED, Credit Union Examination Supervisor.

DONALD E. WAGNER, Small Loan Examination Supervisor.

The Superintendent of Banking and Members of the State Banking Board are appointed by the Governor for terms of four years. Present terms expire June 30, 1977.

The superintendent of banking is charged by law with supervision, direction and control of all banks and trust companies operating under state charter, state chartered credit unions, loan companies operating under the Iowa Small Loan Act and any individual, partnership, unincorporated association, agency or corporation licensed to do the business of debt management. Persons or organizations engaged in the sale of written instruments for transmission or payment of money are required to deposit bond with and submit financial statement to the superintendent of banking. The superintendent of banking is an ex officio member and chairman of the state banking board which acts in an advisory capacity to the superintendent in most matters.