attained in airman and aircraft registrations with 8,135 and 2,619,

respectively.

The commission's current airport development plan programs for the state: 21 new airports; 30 new hard-surfaced runways; 86 runway extensions; 44 pavement overlays; 69 taxiway and ramp projects; eight second runways; five terminal buildings.

Commission on the Aging

ROBERT D. BLUE, Eagle Grove, Chairman, 1975.

DR. W. W. MORRIS, Iowa City, Vice Chairman, 1973.

ROY A. MILLER, Monticello, 1975.

MRS. FRANCES SCHRAMPFER, Ames, 1975.

REV. FRED E. MILLER, Des Moines, 1973.

JAMES N. GILLMAN, Des Moines, 1973.

REV. CLARENCE W. TOMPKINS, Fort Dodge, 1973.

Appointed by the Lieutenant Governor and Speaker

SEN. JOHN C. RHODES, Chariton, 1973.

SEN. TOM RILEY, Cedar Rapids, 1975.

SEN. BASS VAN GILST, Oskaloosa, 1973.

REP. A. GORDON STOKES, LeMars, 1975.

REP. CLAIR STRAND, Grinnell, 1975.

REP. TOM DOUGHERTY, Albia, 1973.

EARL V. NELSON, Executive Secretary.

The Commission on the Aging was created by the Sixty-first General Assembly to investigate problems of the aging in Iowa; to make recommendations to appropriate state agencies; and to cooperate with private and governmental agencies at all levels in demonstration programs of services needed by the aging. The commission selects its own officers for two year terms, meets at least four times each year, and is served by a fulltime executive secretary and staff selected by the commission.

The basic concerns of the commission are housing, health, income maintenance, use of time, educational opportunities for the aging, com-

munity involvement, and the use of older citizens as volunteers.

Commission on Uniform State Laws

Appointed by the Governor.

Terms four years, all ending June 30, 1972.

ALLAN D. VESTAL, Iowa City; EDWARD McNEIL, Montezuma; GEORGE JENS LINDEMAN, Waterloo, and VAL L. SCHOENTHAL, Des Moines.

Authorized under Chapter 5, Code 1962. The law makes it the duty of each said commissioner to attend the meeting of the national conference of commissioners on uniform state laws, or to arrange for the attendance of at least one of their number at such national conference; to promote uniformity in state laws upon all subjects where uniformity may be deemed desirable and practicable.

Department of Banking

(Office Fifth Floor, 607 Locust Street, Des Moines)

The Superintendent of Banking and Members of the State Banking

Board are appointed by the Governor for terms of four years. Present terms expire June 30, 1973.

OLIVER HANSON, Durant, Superintendent of Banking and ex officio member and chairman of the State Banking Board.

JAMES W. CRAVENS, Sanborn, Member, State Banking Board.

CLIFF H. JORDAN, Cedar Rapids, Member, State Banking Board.

JOSEPH W. KNOCK, Creston, Member, State Banking Board. FRANCIS E. PRICE, Des Moines, Member, State Banking Board.

JOHN B. RIGLER, Muscatine, Member, State Banking Board.

ED H. SPETMAN, JR., Council Bluffs, Member, State Banking Board.

Howard K. Hall, Deputy Superintendent of Banking.

William C. Hess, Assistant to the Superintendent of Banking.

Austin T. Helgerson, Bank Examination Supervisor.

Jock D. Stevenson, Bank Examination Analyst.

Marlin Reed, Credit Union Examination Supervisor.

Donald E. Wagner, Loan Institution Examination Supervisor.

The superintendent of banking is charged by law with supervision, direction and control of all banks and trust companies operating under state charter, state chartered credit unions, loan companies operating under the Iowa Small Loan Act and any individual, partnership, unin-corporated association, agency or corporation licensed to do the business of debt management. Persons or organizations engaged in the sale of written instruments for transmission or payment of money are required to deposit bond with and submit financial statement to the superintendent of banking. The superintendent of banking is an ex officio member and chairman of the state banking board which acts in an advisory capacity to the superintendent in most matters.

(See Department of General Services Page 472.)

Department of Mines and Minerals

(Office located at 812 East Grand Avenue)

The Department of Mines and Minerals consists of the State Mine Inspector, a State Mining Board of five members and an Advisory Board of eight members.

State Mine Inspector

Appointed by the Governor.

Term four years, expiring June 30, 1971.

W. DEAN AUBREY, West Des Moines, State Mine Inspector. MARVIN B. ROSS, Slater, Surface Mine Inspector. DOROTHY L. SHELLEY, Altoona, Secretary. HELEN I. KIKENDALL, Des Moines, State Map Program.

State Mining Board

Appointed by the Governor for a term of two years. Terms expire June 30, 1972.

DR. JOHN LEMISH, Ames, Chairman. ROBERT R. WELP, Fort Dodge, Operator Representative. JOHN VICTOR, JR., Fort Dodge, Operator Representative. LEO T. SCHULER, Des Moines, Miner Representative. W. J. EVANS, Des Moines, Miner Representative.