## EXECUTIVE BRANCH AGENCIES

## COMMISSION OF VETERANS AFFAIRS

§35A.2

Camp Dodge, Building #3465, Johnston 50131; 515.252.4698

Name	City	Term Ending/Type
	Toledo	
	Anamosa	
	Hancock	
	Albia	
George Mosby	Boone	April 30, 2026
	Davenport	
	Corydon	
Robert Suesakul	Killduff	April 30, 2027
Mary Van Horn	Des Moines	April 30, 2025
Gary Wattnem	Mason City	April 30, 2025
Ex officio, nonvoting member		
Todd Jacobus, Commandant, Department of		
Veterans Affairs		Statutory

The General Assembly, in 1992, created the Commission of Veterans Affairs. In 2004, the commission's statute was amended to increase the number of commissioners. The Governor appoints nine commissioners; eight must be honorably discharged members of the armed forces of the United States, and one must be from the public at large. All must be confirmed by the Senate. In 2005, the General Assembly created the Department of Veterans Affairs. In 2019, the commission's statute was amended to increase the number of commissioners. The Governor appoints 11 commissioners, 10 must be honorably discharged members of the armed forces of the United States.

Under the auspices of Iowa Code chapter 35A, the commission advises and makes recommendations to the department, the General Assembly, and the Governor concerning the management and operation of the department. The commission supervises the Commandant's administration of commission policy for the operation and conduct of the Iowa Veterans Home.