## **UTILITIES BOARD**

§474.1, 474.10 Utilities Board, 1375 East Court Avenue, Des Moines 50319-0069; 515.725.7300 Jon Tack, General Counsel Louis Vander Streek, Chief Operating Officer

Erik Helland, Administrator ......April 30, 2025

Name	City	Term Ending
Erik Helland, Chair	Des Moines	April 30, 2029
Joshua Byrnes	Osage	April 30, 2025
Sarah M. Martz	Ames	April 30, 2027

The Utilities Board, as provided in Iowa Code chapters 474 and 476 through 479B, regulates various aspects of the services supplied by electric, natural gas, telecommunications, and one rate-regulated water utility. The board also has limited authority over water, storm water, and sanitary sewer services provided by investor-owned utilities. In addition, the board has limited statutory authority to approve the sale and acquisition of water, sanitary sewer, or storm water utilities.

The degree of regulation varies by type of utility. In addition, the board supervises the siting of major pipelines and electric transmission lines, the safety of natural gas and electric transmission lines, and the transmission, sale, and distribution of natural gas and electric service.

The three-member board regulates utilities in the state to ensure that reasonably priced, reliable, environmentally responsible, and safe utility services are available to all Iowans. The chairperson serves as the administrator of the Utilities Division. The Utilities Division has six bureaus: Accounting, Board, Customer Service, Regulatory Analysis, Regulatory Law, and Safety and Engineering.