STATE SOIL CONSERVATION AND WATER QUALITY COMMITTEE \$161A.4

Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship, Wallace State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; 515.281.5851

Name	City	Term Ending/Type
Colleen Miller, Chair	Albert City	April 30, 2025
Matthew Bormann	Bode	April 30, 2027
Dennis Carlson	Hampton	April 30, 2028
Paula Ellis	Donnellson	April 30, 2025
Steve Hofmann	Lamoni	April 30, 2029
David McGhee	Indianola	April 30, 2029
Angela Rosol	Tripoli	April 30, 2029
John Tuthill	DeWitt	April 30, 2027
Ann Vorthmann	Oakland	April 30, 2027
Nonvoting, advisory member		
Jon Hubbert, Natural Resources Conservation Service Statutory		

Ex officio, nonvoting members

The State Soil Conservation and Water Quality Committee (SSCWQC) consists of nine voting members appointed by the Governor. Of these voting members, six are farmers geographically distributed across the state, and the remaining three represent the constituencies of cities, the mining industry, and tree farming. Ex officio, nonvoting members of the committee include representatives of the Department of Natural Resources and the Iowa State University Cooperative Extension Service. Nonvoting advisory members of the committee include representatives of the U.S. Department of Agriculture and Iowa County Engineers Association.

Primary authorities of the SSCWQC are to:

- Establish policy for the administration of Division of Soil Conservation and Water Quality programs;
- Approve rules of the division prior to adoption;
- Recommend annually, to the Secretary of Agriculture, a budget for the division;
- Call upon agencies and education institutions of the state for reports, surveys, or studies necessary to carry out its functions;
- Perform acts and hold public hearings as necessary for the execution of its functions;
- · Appoint commissioners to fill vacancies in soil and water conservation districts;
- Provide a forum for the discussion of soil and water conservation issues and the development of policy and program initiatives; and
- Review district soil loss limits every five years.