REAL ESTATE COMMISSION §543B.8

Department of Inspections, Appeals, and Licensing, 6200 Park Avenue, Des Moines 50321; 515.725.9022

6200 Park Avenue, Des Moines 50521; 515.725.9022 City Term Ending

Mamo

	City	Ierm Enaing
James Clingman, Chair	Ottumwa	April 30, 2026
		April 30, 2026
		April 30, 2026
		April 30, 2024
		April 30, 2025
		April 30, 2024

The first real estate license law enacted by the General Assembly became effective on January 1, 1930.

The Real Estate Commission administers the Iowa real estate license law, Iowa Code chapter 543B; sales of subdivided land located outside of Iowa, Iowa Code chapter 543C; and time shares, Iowa Code chapter 557A. The commission also administers appropriate portions of the continuing education and regulation program, Iowa Code chapter 272C. The licensing law authorizes the commission to issue licenses and regulate the activities of real estate brokers and salespersons, and to carry out a program of real estate education. The subdivided land law authorizes the commission to register out-of-state subdividers who engage in business in Iowa. The Time-Share Act regulates the solicitation and sale of time shares and refers violations to the Attorney General or to an appropriate court. Iowa Code chapter 272C requires licensees to participate in continuing education, and authorizes the commission to adopt administrative rules. The law also establishes procedures for review of the licenses and lists grounds for disciplinary sanctions.

The commission consists of seven members, two of whom must be public members and five who must be licensed to practice real estate; at least one of the licensed members must be a licensed real estate salesperson. All commission members are appointed by the Governor and are subject to confirmation by the Senate. Members are appointed to three-year terms and can serve as many as three terms or nine years, whichever is less.