BOARD OF PAROLE

Ch 904A

510 East Twelfth Street, Suite 3, Des Moines 50319; 515.725.5757; bop.iowa.gov

Name	City	Term Ending
Nicholas Davis, Chair	Des Moines	April 30, 2026
Meredith Lamberti, Vice Chair	Ankeny	April 30, 2026
Thom Darden	Cedar Rapids	April 30, 2025
Ralph Haskins		
Susie Weinacht	Ankeny	April 30, 2025

The Board of Parole was established in 1907 by the General Assembly. The board consists of five members appointed to terms of four years by the Governor and subject to confirmation by the Senate and is supported by staff responsible for victim services, parole liaisons and investigators, and an administrative law judge. The board is directly responsible to the Governor. From those five members, the chairperson and vice chairperson of the board are selected by the Governor and may serve more than one term. A majority of the members of the board constitutes a quorum to transact business.

The board is charged with the responsibility to consider inmates for parole and work release, investigate parole and work release programs within the state of Iowa and nationwide, make recommendations to the Governor regarding elemency and commutation applications, and provide technical assistance related to the board's purposes to public and private entities. The board is required to review for release each inmate incarcerated in Iowa each year except those serving life sentences or sentences where a mandatory minimum term has not yet been served. The board utilizes evidence-based practices to assist in making release decisions and maintains a risk assessment protocol designed to help keep communities safe. The board may revoke and remand to prison any person it has released on parole for any reason it deems proper. It also retains the power to grant a final discharge to any parolee under the supervision of the eight judicial districts in Iowa, usually on the recommendation of the supervising officer.